• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 vman69au

vman69au

Serf

• Lurker
  • 12 posts

Posted 18 March 2009 - 10:10 PM

I have my 64 Bit Vista OS installed on a single Partition on a RAID 5 array using MOBO raid. I don't want to do a fresh Vista install as I have just spent a week putting all my software onto the new system. I have now decided I don't want RAID 5 for my OS. Is it possible to move this OS to a new single HDD drive without re installing everything? If so what tools do I need to image/backup the current OS and software so that I can re image it back to a new drive ? Also I would like to install other OS's like XP onto the system Do I need to create multiple partitions on the single drive for this ? I'm a bit of a noob at this so any step by step help would be greatly appreciated.

#2 wilsontc

wilsontc

Champion

• Atomican
  • 4,242 posts

Posted 18 March 2009 - 10:14 PM

Nope, you're stuffed. One thing you could try would be to get an image creating program such as Acronis True Image or Ghost, remove all disk and storage devices under Window's device manager, create the image and then dump that image to your hard drive. What is most likely to happen is that your computer BSODs, but it's worth a shot. You might waste less time reinstalling rather than messing around trying to save what you have though.
emccat, Sep 23 2008: you could build like 40 probably more space shuttles or reserch a new type of ion drive (i mean i have come up with a working in theory proptype design AND IM 14) i mean really you'd think that you'd try to settle on the moon at least for all the minerals and crap there.

#3 vman69au

vman69au

Serf

• Lurker
  • 12 posts

Posted 19 March 2009 - 10:34 AM