Jump to content


Photo

Overclocking Alienware Alx Issues


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 trojan_87

trojan_87

    Serf

  • Lurker
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Thornleigh, Sydney

Posted 03 March 2010 - 10:53 AM

Hey Guys, Just got an aurora alx system and im trying to o/c the dam thing using the intel extreme util and not getting anywhere just reboots over and over when auto tuning its stable all the time any advice would be handy specs as follows CPU: i7 950 @3.07 (usually running at @3.2 due to intel boost) Ram: 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 2x 295 Gtx Sli 1.1 k/w p/s Mobo: Alienware Intel x58 chipset Thanks ahead guys... I get 17k 3d mark 06 is this right or to low? just curios for this kinda system?
Custom Alienware Aurora ALX Intel i7 950 @4.0ghz Intel X58 Mobo 12gb ddr3 @1650mhz Corsair xms Nvidia GTX295 x2 300gb VelociRaptor 2x 500gb Seagate drives 23.5" Optx Alienware Montior, 22" Alienware Monitor Nvidia 3D Vision Glasses Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Currently Playing: Call Of Duty 4 MW:2, Dragon age Origins, World of Warcraft

#2 computer_blue

computer_blue

    Initiate

  • Quark
  • 29 posts

Posted 03 March 2010 - 11:31 AM

If you don't mind me asking, how much did you pay for this beast?

#3 trojan_87

trojan_87

    Serf

  • Lurker
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Thornleigh, Sydney

Posted 03 March 2010 - 12:11 PM

Got it from work... Tryin it out :P

Edited by trojan_87, 05 March 2010 - 09:10 AM.

Custom Alienware Aurora ALX Intel i7 950 @4.0ghz Intel X58 Mobo 12gb ddr3 @1650mhz Corsair xms Nvidia GTX295 x2 300gb VelociRaptor 2x 500gb Seagate drives 23.5" Optx Alienware Montior, 22" Alienware Monitor Nvidia 3D Vision Glasses Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Currently Playing: Call Of Duty 4 MW:2, Dragon age Origins, World of Warcraft

#4 mudg3

mudg3

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,053 posts
  • Location:Brisbane QLD

Posted 03 March 2010 - 12:46 PM

Can you post the model number of the Intel board you have? What kind of overclock are you after? what kind of cooling do you have?
3930K ||Corsair H110 || ASUS Rampage IV ||16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3@1877mhz||ATI 7970||250gb Samsung 840||2x4tb||DELL2711||Corsair 650D|| ASUS Essence STX ||Audio Engine A2's||Aiaiai:TMA-1||Enermax 1050w|| Atomics resident filth

#5 trojan_87

trojan_87

    Serf

  • Lurker
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Thornleigh, Sydney

Posted 03 March 2010 - 12:55 PM

Being Alienware there doesn't seem to be any kind of model number except for Alienware Aurora ALX I can post a cpu-z dump when I get home.... It has water cooling 120mm closed circuit for the CPU ... Im hoping to achieve 3.5 - 4 ghz

Edited by trojan_87, 05 March 2010 - 09:12 AM.

Custom Alienware Aurora ALX Intel i7 950 @4.0ghz Intel X58 Mobo 12gb ddr3 @1650mhz Corsair xms Nvidia GTX295 x2 300gb VelociRaptor 2x 500gb Seagate drives 23.5" Optx Alienware Montior, 22" Alienware Monitor Nvidia 3D Vision Glasses Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Currently Playing: Call Of Duty 4 MW:2, Dragon age Origins, World of Warcraft

#6 mudg3

mudg3

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,053 posts
  • Location:Brisbane QLD

Posted 03 March 2010 - 12:59 PM

I would never pay anyone to overclock something. Is it one of the new ones with the corsair h50 water cooler?
3930K ||Corsair H110 || ASUS Rampage IV ||16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3@1877mhz||ATI 7970||250gb Samsung 840||2x4tb||DELL2711||Corsair 650D|| ASUS Essence STX ||Audio Engine A2's||Aiaiai:TMA-1||Enermax 1050w|| Atomics resident filth

#7 trojan_87

trojan_87

    Serf

  • Lurker
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Thornleigh, Sydney

Posted 03 March 2010 - 01:10 PM

Its more fun when you do it yourself, I got no exp with these new i7's I used to o/c my p3 450 back in the day lol... I think it might be, It just has the alienware logo of a pump on the cpu block Its more fun when you do it yourself, I got no exp with these new i7's I used to o/c my p3 450 back in the day lol... I think it might be, It just has the alienware logo of a pump on the cpu block
Custom Alienware Aurora ALX Intel i7 950 @4.0ghz Intel X58 Mobo 12gb ddr3 @1650mhz Corsair xms Nvidia GTX295 x2 300gb VelociRaptor 2x 500gb Seagate drives 23.5" Optx Alienware Montior, 22" Alienware Monitor Nvidia 3D Vision Glasses Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Currently Playing: Call Of Duty 4 MW:2, Dragon age Origins, World of Warcraft

#8 mudg3

mudg3

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,053 posts
  • Location:Brisbane QLD

Posted 03 March 2010 - 01:33 PM

CPU Clock Ratio to 23x CPU Host Frequency (AKA QPI/BClock) to 175 (23X175 = 4025) CPU Uncore Frequency to 16x Next go to the "Memory Feature tab" and adjust the RAM to it's specifications. In my case, I am running 1600MHz memory so I run it at * Memory Frequency to 2:8. * Memory timings adjusted properly per memory specifications. * This will give me 1600MHz memory. (200x8) * Set the tRFC Setting to 74 Next, and probably the most important, we will need to adjust the voltages. Under the Voltage Control tab I made the following adjustments, and please note, you may need to tweak this further for better stability, and/or better temps. * Load Line calibration LCC ( on my baord its called VDROOP) * CPU VCore - 1.300V (note, this is just an example) * CPU VTT - +200mV * CPU PLL - Auto * DIMM Voltage - 1.65V * DIMM DQ Vref - +0mV * QPI PLL VCore - 1.350V * IOH VCore - 1.500V * IOH/ICH I/O Voltage 1.50V * ICH VCore - 1.2V Next go to the CPU tab * Disable all of the Intel Power saving features. * Enable "Turbo Mode Function" (this will give you a 24x multiplier) * Change QPI Frequency Selection to "4.800 GT/s. this is only a quide line but should suite your needs post when you get home. You will also want to download realtemp and linX to test stability and check temps. Have fun don't blow it up.
3930K ||Corsair H110 || ASUS Rampage IV ||16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3@1877mhz||ATI 7970||250gb Samsung 840||2x4tb||DELL2711||Corsair 650D|| ASUS Essence STX ||Audio Engine A2's||Aiaiai:TMA-1||Enermax 1050w|| Atomics resident filth

#9 trojan_87

trojan_87

    Serf

  • Lurker
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Thornleigh, Sydney

Posted 03 March 2010 - 02:45 PM

Cheers Mate Ill give this a shot when I get home.... I owe you a beer for all that lol
Custom Alienware Aurora ALX Intel i7 950 @4.0ghz Intel X58 Mobo 12gb ddr3 @1650mhz Corsair xms Nvidia GTX295 x2 300gb VelociRaptor 2x 500gb Seagate drives 23.5" Optx Alienware Montior, 22" Alienware Monitor Nvidia 3D Vision Glasses Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Currently Playing: Call Of Duty 4 MW:2, Dragon age Origins, World of Warcraft

#10 trojan_87

trojan_87

    Serf

  • Lurker
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Thornleigh, Sydney

Posted 03 March 2010 - 08:31 PM

I Reached 3.9ghz just shy of 4 >.< got 18k 3d mark 06... Thanks for your help ...
Custom Alienware Aurora ALX Intel i7 950 @4.0ghz Intel X58 Mobo 12gb ddr3 @1650mhz Corsair xms Nvidia GTX295 x2 300gb VelociRaptor 2x 500gb Seagate drives 23.5" Optx Alienware Montior, 22" Alienware Monitor Nvidia 3D Vision Glasses Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Currently Playing: Call Of Duty 4 MW:2, Dragon age Origins, World of Warcraft

#11 mudg3

mudg3

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,053 posts
  • Location:Brisbane QLD

Posted 03 March 2010 - 11:15 PM

4ghz should be easy on a i7 950. What was happening?
3930K ||Corsair H110 || ASUS Rampage IV ||16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3@1877mhz||ATI 7970||250gb Samsung 840||2x4tb||DELL2711||Corsair 650D|| ASUS Essence STX ||Audio Engine A2's||Aiaiai:TMA-1||Enermax 1050w|| Atomics resident filth

#12 trojan_87

trojan_87

    Serf

  • Lurker
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Thornleigh, Sydney

Posted 03 March 2010 - 11:29 PM

Intel tuning util is no good period... Running from bios any higher than 160 = no restart, Just bios beeps and then reboots to say o/c failed.. Now im fairly sure my gtx 295's arnt running in quad sli >.< this thing is driving me nuts sigh... lol
Custom Alienware Aurora ALX Intel i7 950 @4.0ghz Intel X58 Mobo 12gb ddr3 @1650mhz Corsair xms Nvidia GTX295 x2 300gb VelociRaptor 2x 500gb Seagate drives 23.5" Optx Alienware Montior, 22" Alienware Monitor Nvidia 3D Vision Glasses Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Currently Playing: Call Of Duty 4 MW:2, Dragon age Origins, World of Warcraft

#13 mudg3

mudg3

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,053 posts
  • Location:Brisbane QLD

Posted 03 March 2010 - 11:34 PM

thats odd. You should be able to hit 200ish. You just have to select SLI in your nvidia control panel.
3930K ||Corsair H110 || ASUS Rampage IV ||16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3@1877mhz||ATI 7970||250gb Samsung 840||2x4tb||DELL2711||Corsair 650D|| ASUS Essence STX ||Audio Engine A2's||Aiaiai:TMA-1||Enermax 1050w|| Atomics resident filth

#14 trojan_87

trojan_87

    Serf

  • Lurker
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Thornleigh, Sydney

Posted 04 March 2010 - 08:58 AM

Yeah im going try to raise the voltage and lower the mem multi tonight... It was enabled and I was getting artifacts in 3d mark vantage, dumped the nvidia drivers ran driver sweeper, Reinstalled the latest drivers from nvid and its working again... got about 36k this morning....
Custom Alienware Aurora ALX Intel i7 950 @4.0ghz Intel X58 Mobo 12gb ddr3 @1650mhz Corsair xms Nvidia GTX295 x2 300gb VelociRaptor 2x 500gb Seagate drives 23.5" Optx Alienware Montior, 22" Alienware Monitor Nvidia 3D Vision Glasses Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Currently Playing: Call Of Duty 4 MW:2, Dragon age Origins, World of Warcraft

#15 mudg3

mudg3

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,053 posts
  • Location:Brisbane QLD

Posted 04 March 2010 - 09:58 AM

Did you run the mex multi & 16's? What ram do you have? Some no name alienware stuff?
3930K ||Corsair H110 || ASUS Rampage IV ||16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3@1877mhz||ATI 7970||250gb Samsung 840||2x4tb||DELL2711||Corsair 650D|| ASUS Essence STX ||Audio Engine A2's||Aiaiai:TMA-1||Enermax 1050w|| Atomics resident filth

#16 trojan_87

trojan_87

    Serf

  • Lurker
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Thornleigh, Sydney

Posted 04 March 2010 - 11:29 AM

It wont run with mem multi set at max, but freq is at 1650 atm, The memory is the corsair xms 1600 triple channel 6gb kit x 2 (one of the few un alienated parts lol)
Custom Alienware Aurora ALX Intel i7 950 @4.0ghz Intel X58 Mobo 12gb ddr3 @1650mhz Corsair xms Nvidia GTX295 x2 300gb VelociRaptor 2x 500gb Seagate drives 23.5" Optx Alienware Montior, 22" Alienware Monitor Nvidia 3D Vision Glasses Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Currently Playing: Call Of Duty 4 MW:2, Dragon age Origins, World of Warcraft

#17 mudg3

mudg3

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,053 posts
  • Location:Brisbane QLD

Posted 04 March 2010 - 12:22 PM

16x isnt max mem multi though : /
3930K ||Corsair H110 || ASUS Rampage IV ||16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3@1877mhz||ATI 7970||250gb Samsung 840||2x4tb||DELL2711||Corsair 650D|| ASUS Essence STX ||Audio Engine A2's||Aiaiai:TMA-1||Enermax 1050w|| Atomics resident filth

#18 trojan_87

trojan_87

    Serf

  • Lurker
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Thornleigh, Sydney

Posted 04 March 2010 - 12:34 PM

What should it be, A may be in need of a bios update... >.<
Custom Alienware Aurora ALX Intel i7 950 @4.0ghz Intel X58 Mobo 12gb ddr3 @1650mhz Corsair xms Nvidia GTX295 x2 300gb VelociRaptor 2x 500gb Seagate drives 23.5" Optx Alienware Montior, 22" Alienware Monitor Nvidia 3D Vision Glasses Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Currently Playing: Call Of Duty 4 MW:2, Dragon age Origins, World of Warcraft

#19 Morgoth

Morgoth

    Guru

  • Hero
  • 15,883 posts

Posted 04 March 2010 - 01:32 PM

You definately have a low '06 score for some unknown reason. I got 22,000 with a Q9650@4GHz and a single 4870x2 ati card.
2011 Atomic 3DMark & Game Benchmark Rankings !! http://forums.atomic...showtopic=41178 Current PC (no lie) Athlon XP-M 2400+@2640MHz (3d) / Abit NF7-S2.0 Vmodded / 1Gig OCZ Gold EL GX BH-5 / ATI Radeon 9800XT@500MHz

#20 NukeJockey

NukeJockey

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 23,625 posts

Posted 04 March 2010 - 03:42 PM

Yeah those scores are way too low. Thats what an e8500 and a single 4870 roughly gets. Try run 3d Mark Vantage and see what score you get on that. Also, Mudge, good tips mate, I'm picking up my i7 gear tomorrow which is gonna be on water, so hopefully i can push it past 4.2 without any major problems. Cheers.
My Rig: ASUS P67 Sabretooth | i5 2500k w/ Corsair H80 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaw-X 1866mhz | Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X| NZXT Phantom | Corsair HX850




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users