Jump to content


Photo

GTX 480 Brands?


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 jdog

jdog

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,705 posts
  • Location:Brisbane,Austrailia

Posted 21 September 2010 - 11:41 AM

im going to buy a gtx 480 and wondering whats best brand to get or they all the same? im thinking of going gigabyte but ive read a few issues with them,so im thinking of another brand. i was looking at a EVGA one but Umart (thats where im getting my build from) doesnt stock them anymore so what would you recommend? I dont want to spend too much maybe $620-30 maximum. what opitions do i have?

Atomic's wannabe LN2 Junkie
Project "Giga-bench"- Complete: bit.ly/1erdgs9
Main Rig: GA-X58A-UD7(v2)|i7 950|12gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz|3x5870 1GB|Coolermaster HAF X |1TB WD Black HDD||Pionner DVDRW|Corsair HX850w|Logitech X530|3xDell U2711|Logitech G500|Logitech G510|HD 280 Pro Steam Name:jim_jam333/jimba86 Xbox 360 S 250GB + Kinect owner


#2 nesquick

nesquick

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 19,783 posts

Posted 21 September 2010 - 12:16 PM

I wouldn't spend more than $550 on one, they are selling for like $450 on ocau if you want a used one.
STEAM/BC2 name: AllNightmareLong

#3 jdog

jdog

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,705 posts
  • Location:Brisbane,Austrailia

Posted 21 September 2010 - 12:27 PM

I wouldn't spend more than $550 on one, they are selling for like $450 on ocau if you want a used one.


i would prefer new (just for warranty,etc) i can get any of these from umart for under $600:

ECS: $569
Gigabyte: $588
Leadtek: $569
MSI:$579
POV:$550

which one should i get? i kinda leaning towards the gigabyte or MSI ( i havent heard much about any of the other brands)

Edited by jdog, 21 September 2010 - 12:27 PM.

Atomic's wannabe LN2 Junkie
Project "Giga-bench"- Complete: bit.ly/1erdgs9
Main Rig: GA-X58A-UD7(v2)|i7 950|12gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz|3x5870 1GB|Coolermaster HAF X |1TB WD Black HDD||Pionner DVDRW|Corsair HX850w|Logitech X530|3xDell U2711|Logitech G500|Logitech G510|HD 280 Pro Steam Name:jim_jam333/jimba86 Xbox 360 S 250GB + Kinect owner


#4 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,913 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 21 September 2010 - 12:40 PM

See if you can score a free game or something with the card if anything is bundled with it.

PC Case gear are selling some for 549 ex P&P
http://www.pccasegea...oducts_id=14052

Edited by Jeruselem, 21 September 2010 - 01:13 PM.

“We’re not going to stop the wheel. I’m going to break the wheel.” - Daenerys Targaryen

 

"We have some of the most beautiful hookers in the world" - Putin to Trump


#5 jdog

jdog

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,705 posts
  • Location:Brisbane,Austrailia

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:20 PM

See if you can score a free game or something with the card if anything is bundled with it.

PC Case gear are selling some for 549 ex P&P
http://www.pccasegea...oducts_id=14052


i dont think any of the gtx 480s have a game with them (booo) but i am thinking of getting the gigabyte one only thing is ive never used gigabyte cards before,are they good,reilable,etc

in the us you can get mafia 2 but you cant get it here,also i dont think any of the gigabyte cards have any bonuses with them (or do they?)

Atomic's wannabe LN2 Junkie
Project "Giga-bench"- Complete: bit.ly/1erdgs9
Main Rig: GA-X58A-UD7(v2)|i7 950|12gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz|3x5870 1GB|Coolermaster HAF X |1TB WD Black HDD||Pionner DVDRW|Corsair HX850w|Logitech X530|3xDell U2711|Logitech G500|Logitech G510|HD 280 Pro Steam Name:jim_jam333/jimba86 Xbox 360 S 250GB + Kinect owner


#6 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,913 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:26 PM

i dont think any of the gtx 480s have a game with them (booo) but i am thinking of getting the gigabyte one only thing is ive never used gigabyte cards before,are they good,reilable,etc

in the us you can get mafia 2 but you cant get it here,also i dont think any of the gigabyte cards have any bonuses with them (or do they?)


Not recently, but sometimes I see it. Maybe they think us Australians don't deserve free games anymore.

“We’re not going to stop the wheel. I’m going to break the wheel.” - Daenerys Targaryen

 

"We have some of the most beautiful hookers in the world" - Putin to Trump


#7 metasynaptic

metasynaptic

    Primarch

  • Atomican
  • 1,373 posts
  • Location:Canberra

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:28 PM

I find gigabyte gear reliable. I usually stick to corsair and gigabyte gear these days because of this.

#8 jdog

jdog

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,705 posts
  • Location:Brisbane,Austrailia

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:35 PM

I find gigabyte gear reliable.

I usually stick to corsair and gigabyte gear these days because of this.


sweet ill go with the gigabyte one!

(can someone pester the companies to give us some free games with the stuff we buy? i mean the world doesnt evolve just round the US....)

Edited by jdog, 21 September 2010 - 01:35 PM.

Atomic's wannabe LN2 Junkie
Project "Giga-bench"- Complete: bit.ly/1erdgs9
Main Rig: GA-X58A-UD7(v2)|i7 950|12gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz|3x5870 1GB|Coolermaster HAF X |1TB WD Black HDD||Pionner DVDRW|Corsair HX850w|Logitech X530|3xDell U2711|Logitech G500|Logitech G510|HD 280 Pro Steam Name:jim_jam333/jimba86 Xbox 360 S 250GB + Kinect owner


#9 nesquick

nesquick

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 19,783 posts

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:46 PM

you know another alternative would be to pick up 2 GTX460's
STEAM/BC2 name: AllNightmareLong

#10 jdog

jdog

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,705 posts
  • Location:Brisbane,Austrailia

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:47 PM

you know another alternative would be to pick up 2 GTX460's


yes, but if i do that then im limited on upgrade choices...

Atomic's wannabe LN2 Junkie
Project "Giga-bench"- Complete: bit.ly/1erdgs9
Main Rig: GA-X58A-UD7(v2)|i7 950|12gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz|3x5870 1GB|Coolermaster HAF X |1TB WD Black HDD||Pionner DVDRW|Corsair HX850w|Logitech X530|3xDell U2711|Logitech G500|Logitech G510|HD 280 Pro Steam Name:jim_jam333/jimba86 Xbox 360 S 250GB + Kinect owner


#11 nesquick

nesquick

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 19,783 posts

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:54 PM

what about 2 GTX465's and unlock them to GTX470's its just for the money you are spending I'd be waiting for the new cards, well actually I am, can't wait to hit up the benchmark thread with some awesome scores.
STEAM/BC2 name: AllNightmareLong

#12 jdog

jdog

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,705 posts
  • Location:Brisbane,Austrailia

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:55 PM

what about 2 GTX465's and unlock them to GTX470's

its just for the money you are spending I'd be waiting for the new cards, well actually I am, can't wait to hit up the benchmark thread with some awesome scores.


i would wait,but the thing is im getting this system in the next week or 2 so its kind of urgent...

also couldnt you only do that with the early ones? you cant still do it now can you?

Edited by jdog, 21 September 2010 - 01:58 PM.

Atomic's wannabe LN2 Junkie
Project "Giga-bench"- Complete: bit.ly/1erdgs9
Main Rig: GA-X58A-UD7(v2)|i7 950|12gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz|3x5870 1GB|Coolermaster HAF X |1TB WD Black HDD||Pionner DVDRW|Corsair HX850w|Logitech X530|3xDell U2711|Logitech G500|Logitech G510|HD 280 Pro Steam Name:jim_jam333/jimba86 Xbox 360 S 250GB + Kinect owner


#13 nesquick

nesquick

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 19,783 posts

Posted 21 September 2010 - 01:59 PM

well get a stop gap card like im doing, im getting a HD5750 for $130 to hold me over, I can put up with bad frame rates for 2 months if it means I don't lose like $200 in value on the 5850.
STEAM/BC2 name: AllNightmareLong

#14 jdog

jdog

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,705 posts
  • Location:Brisbane,Austrailia

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:04 PM

well get a stop gap card like im doing, im getting a HD5750 for $130 to hold me over, I can put up with bad frame rates for 2 months if it means I don't lose like $200 in value on the 5850.


good point,that will save me some money then when nvidia releases there new batch of cards ( say, a 512 version of the 480) ill buy that then and have more peformance then i would of got if i had brought it now.

what would you recoomend?

(that is capable of doing 3ds max and photoshop well as well of playing games on a 17" or 23" monitor?

Edited by jdog, 21 September 2010 - 02:05 PM.

Atomic's wannabe LN2 Junkie
Project "Giga-bench"- Complete: bit.ly/1erdgs9
Main Rig: GA-X58A-UD7(v2)|i7 950|12gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz|3x5870 1GB|Coolermaster HAF X |1TB WD Black HDD||Pionner DVDRW|Corsair HX850w|Logitech X530|3xDell U2711|Logitech G500|Logitech G510|HD 280 Pro Steam Name:jim_jam333/jimba86 Xbox 360 S 250GB + Kinect owner


#15 nobody813

nobody813

    Champion

  • Atomican
  • 6,540 posts
  • Location:Tasmania

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:04 PM

well get a stop gap card like im doing, im getting a HD5750 for $130 to hold me over, I can put up with bad frame rates for 2 months if it means I don't lose like $200 in value on the 5850.

My $50 HD 4850 was my stop gap card, plus it was a nice upgrade. I had planned to get a HD 5770... It'll be GTX 460 or HD 67xx now

Depending on what you have, a GTX 460 or HD 57x0 would be a nice card to have temporarily

Edited by nobody813, 21 September 2010 - 02:05 PM.

"Nobody, including Nobody, knows what Nobody is doing..." - millen

 

Intel Core i7 4790K | ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | 16GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 | EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 4GB | Cogage Arrow | 500GB Samsung 850 Evo | 2TB + 1TB Seagate 7200.14's | Corsair RM650i | Fractal Design Arc Midi


#16 jdog

jdog

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,705 posts
  • Location:Brisbane,Austrailia

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:12 PM

well get a stop gap card like im doing, im getting a HD5750 for $130 to hold me over, I can put up with bad frame rates for 2 months if it means I don't lose like $200 in value on the 5850.

My $50 HD 4850 was my stop gap card, plus it was a nice upgrade. I had planned to get a HD 5770... It'll be GTX 460 or HD 67xx now

Depending on what you have, a GTX 460 or HD 57x0 would be a nice card to have temporarily


i currently have a palait 9600GT (thats playing up) so im thinking either a gtx 460 or gtx 465 as a stop gap card would that be suitable for photoshop and 3ds max to work well? as well as play games?

Atomic's wannabe LN2 Junkie
Project "Giga-bench"- Complete: bit.ly/1erdgs9
Main Rig: GA-X58A-UD7(v2)|i7 950|12gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz|3x5870 1GB|Coolermaster HAF X |1TB WD Black HDD||Pionner DVDRW|Corsair HX850w|Logitech X530|3xDell U2711|Logitech G500|Logitech G510|HD 280 Pro Steam Name:jim_jam333/jimba86 Xbox 360 S 250GB + Kinect owner


#17 nesquick

nesquick

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 19,783 posts

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:15 PM

well get a stop gap card like im doing, im getting a HD5750 for $130 to hold me over, I can put up with bad frame rates for 2 months if it means I don't lose like $200 in value on the 5850.


good point,that will save me some money then when nvidia releases there new batch of cards ( say, a 512 version of the 480) ill buy that then and have more peformance then i would of got if i had brought it now.

what would you recoomend?

(that is capable of doing 3ds max and photoshop well as well of playing games on a 17" or 23" monitor?

not really sure, maybe a GT250? GT450? not sure what your tolerances for performance in games is.
STEAM/BC2 name: AllNightmareLong

#18 jdog

jdog

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,705 posts
  • Location:Brisbane,Austrailia

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:17 PM

well get a stop gap card like im doing, im getting a HD5750 for $130 to hold me over, I can put up with bad frame rates for 2 months if it means I don't lose like $200 in value on the 5850.


good point,that will save me some money then when nvidia releases there new batch of cards ( say, a 512 version of the 480) ill buy that then and have more peformance then i would of got if i had brought it now.

what would you recoomend?

(that is capable of doing 3ds max and photoshop well as well of playing games on a 17" or 23" monitor?

not really sure, maybe a GT250? GT450? not sure what your tolerances for performance in games is.


something which doesnt go like a slideshow and can play at good levels (30fps)

Atomic's wannabe LN2 Junkie
Project "Giga-bench"- Complete: bit.ly/1erdgs9
Main Rig: GA-X58A-UD7(v2)|i7 950|12gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz|3x5870 1GB|Coolermaster HAF X |1TB WD Black HDD||Pionner DVDRW|Corsair HX850w|Logitech X530|3xDell U2711|Logitech G500|Logitech G510|HD 280 Pro Steam Name:jim_jam333/jimba86 Xbox 360 S 250GB + Kinect owner


#19 nobody813

nobody813

    Champion

  • Atomican
  • 6,540 posts
  • Location:Tasmania

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:23 PM

A midrange card or higher will do nicely. Something like a GTS 450 or HD 5750 would be great Looking at what you want, a GTS 450 would be good. They are quiet, use minimal power for a fermi, and perform well for their price (especially in yours apps as it's a Nvidia) And, if you end up getting a GTX 480 later on down the track, you have a PhysX card

"Nobody, including Nobody, knows what Nobody is doing..." - millen

 

Intel Core i7 4790K | ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | 16GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 | EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 4GB | Cogage Arrow | 500GB Samsung 850 Evo | 2TB + 1TB Seagate 7200.14's | Corsair RM650i | Fractal Design Arc Midi


#20 jdog

jdog

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,705 posts
  • Location:Brisbane,Austrailia

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:25 PM

A midrange card or higher will do nicely. Something like a GTS 450 or HD 5750 would be great

Looking at what you want, a GTS 450 would be good. They are quiet, use minimal power for a fermi, and perform well for their price (especially in yours apps as it's a Nvidia)

And, if you end up getting a GTX 480 later on down the track, you have a PhysX card


good point,i may do that. if i do would i be able to have 480 SLI+physX+Sound card+ TV tuner card on the same mobo or would it be cramped?

Atomic's wannabe LN2 Junkie
Project "Giga-bench"- Complete: bit.ly/1erdgs9
Main Rig: GA-X58A-UD7(v2)|i7 950|12gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz|3x5870 1GB|Coolermaster HAF X |1TB WD Black HDD||Pionner DVDRW|Corsair HX850w|Logitech X530|3xDell U2711|Logitech G500|Logitech G510|HD 280 Pro Steam Name:jim_jam333/jimba86 Xbox 360 S 250GB + Kinect owner





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users