Jump to content


Photo

Overclocking 2500k


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 twents

twents

    Croissant

  • Atomican
  • 624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Geelong

Posted 14 January 2012 - 08:55 AM

I have overclocked my cpu just by adjusting the cpu clock ratio to 45 or 46 or whatever. am i better to adjust the bclk frequency instead? i think it used to be called pci-e frequency or something similar? It is set to 101mhz but i have read that some poeple are going alot higher than that. so im still getting the 4.6ghz overclock, just wondering if i can reduce the temps down by using the bclk instead? im running on the lowest volts for the overclock at the moment. Cheers.
BF3 name: FREEZINBONES Battletag (WoW D3): FREEZIN#1668 Steam: FREEZINBONES 2500k @ 4.6, 7970 @ 1150/1650, HX750, P8p67 pro, Sandisk/Patriot SSD/Ram, Xonar DG N40L, z2300's, desklamp, mousepad, old shit desk.

#2 hutchpe

hutchpe

    Cupcake

  • Quark
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 15 January 2012 - 07:53 PM

With 2nd gen Intel processors the BCLK is linked to the pci-e clock. This means that changing it also changes the pci-e clock which causes stability issues. The best way to overclock them is to just change the multiplier.
Intel Core i7 950, Gigabyte X58A-UD3R, G.Skill 6GB 1600, Gigabyte GTX 460, Seagate 1TB, Corsair TX 750, Thermaltake Frio, Lancool Dragonlord PC-K62

#3 twents

twents

    Croissant

  • Atomican
  • 624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Geelong

Posted 15 January 2012 - 08:21 PM

so why is it then that you are able to change it? i just set it to 105.00mhz and lowered the cpu ratio down to still keep the same speed, but playing WoW i got a few "graphics driver stopped responding" errors. so i set it back to 100 and upped the ratio back to 45. i think i was able to run 102mhz there and still being stable. I have been doubtful about it, thanks for clearing that up.

Edited by twents, 15 January 2012 - 08:22 PM.

BF3 name: FREEZINBONES Battletag (WoW D3): FREEZIN#1668 Steam: FREEZINBONES 2500k @ 4.6, 7970 @ 1150/1650, HX750, P8p67 pro, Sandisk/Patriot SSD/Ram, Xonar DG N40L, z2300's, desklamp, mousepad, old shit desk.

#4 hutchpe

hutchpe

    Cupcake

  • Quark
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 15 January 2012 - 08:30 PM

Im not sure why you can change it either. Also those graphics driver errors would have almost certainly been from changing the BCLK.
Intel Core i7 950, Gigabyte X58A-UD3R, G.Skill 6GB 1600, Gigabyte GTX 460, Seagate 1TB, Corsair TX 750, Thermaltake Frio, Lancool Dragonlord PC-K62

#5 twents

twents

    Croissant

  • Atomican
  • 624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Geelong

Posted 15 January 2012 - 08:33 PM

Im not sure why you can change it either. Also those graphics driver errors would have almost certainly been from changing the BCLK.


yeah, ive never had them before untill changing the BCLK, so it was an easy fix.
BF3 name: FREEZINBONES Battletag (WoW D3): FREEZIN#1668 Steam: FREEZINBONES 2500k @ 4.6, 7970 @ 1150/1650, HX750, P8p67 pro, Sandisk/Patriot SSD/Ram, Xonar DG N40L, z2300's, desklamp, mousepad, old shit desk.

#6 p0is0n

p0is0n

    Banoffee Pie

  • Atomican
  • 5,461 posts

Posted 16 January 2012 - 12:13 AM

what voltages/settings are you using? i run about 4.6 is a modest 24/7 OC but temps shouldn't be an issue. 46x100mhz - don't touch the bclk unless you already hit your wall with the multi here are my settings if it helps.. vcore = 1.33v pll = 1.65v qpi = 1.15v (due to tight memory timings) sys agent = 0.935 ram = 1.65v (stock volts) pll overvoltage = disabled LLC = disabled make sure you aren't giving it too much volts or dont have LLC or pll over volt on, as they will feed your cpu too much power creating more heat. they are only necessary for higher OC like 5.0+ so turn it off for 24.7 OC hope that helps

Edited by p0is(+)n, 16 January 2012 - 12:15 AM.

i7 2600k | Z68A-GD80 | 8GB RAM | CF 7970 | 120GB SSD | 1kW PSU | Butchered Case | Water Cooling | U2713H HP N40L | 16GB RAM | 7x WD 2TB | Ubuntu | ZFS

#7 twents

twents

    Croissant

  • Atomican
  • 624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Geelong

Posted 18 January 2012 - 03:27 PM

what voltages/settings are you using?
i run about 4.6 is a modest 24/7 OC but temps shouldn't be an issue.
46x100mhz - don't touch the bclk unless you already hit your wall with the multi

here are my settings if it helps..
vcore = 1.33v
pll = 1.65v
qpi = 1.15v (due to tight memory timings)
sys agent = 0.935
ram = 1.65v (stock volts)
pll overvoltage = disabled
LLC = disabled

make sure you aren't giving it too much volts or dont have LLC or pll over volt on, as they will feed your cpu too much power creating more heat.
they are only necessary for higher OC like 5.0+ so turn it off for 24.7 OC

hope that helps

everything is on auto, all i set was the multi @45, i did get up to 4.9ghz but was running at 1.42volts or something i cant remember.
ive got the p8 p67 pro, and i didnt really understand the llc or whatever so i left them.
BF3 name: FREEZINBONES Battletag (WoW D3): FREEZIN#1668 Steam: FREEZINBONES 2500k @ 4.6, 7970 @ 1150/1650, HX750, P8p67 pro, Sandisk/Patriot SSD/Ram, Xonar DG N40L, z2300's, desklamp, mousepad, old shit desk.

#8 p0is0n

p0is0n

    Banoffee Pie

  • Atomican
  • 5,461 posts

Posted 18 January 2012 - 03:59 PM

ah ok. while auto may work. its not recommended as your CPU will draw usually way too much power (as you saw, 1.42v). once you find a stable overclock your happy with, try reducing voltages as much as you can to get the most efficient, then add a little just to be safe. might be best to do some reading if you don't know what some of the settings do, especially if you want your cpu to last :)
i7 2600k | Z68A-GD80 | 8GB RAM | CF 7970 | 120GB SSD | 1kW PSU | Butchered Case | Water Cooling | U2713H HP N40L | 16GB RAM | 7x WD 2TB | Ubuntu | ZFS

#9 twents

twents

    Croissant

  • Atomican
  • 624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Geelong

Posted 18 January 2012 - 06:24 PM

i should clear it up a little, 1.42 is what i had to set it to (or maybe 1.4?) to reach 4.9ghz, but at 4.5ghz or whatever it is now it only runs 1.336 on full load. i didnt really play around with the 4.9ghz overclock to much.
BF3 name: FREEZINBONES Battletag (WoW D3): FREEZIN#1668 Steam: FREEZINBONES 2500k @ 4.6, 7970 @ 1150/1650, HX750, P8p67 pro, Sandisk/Patriot SSD/Ram, Xonar DG N40L, z2300's, desklamp, mousepad, old shit desk.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users