Jump to content


Photo

twin HD6870


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 elfenlied

elfenlied

    Immortal

  • Quark
  • 19 posts
  • Location:brisbane

Posted 06 May 2012 - 06:27 PM

What do you guys/girls think of running 2 HD6870 in crosfire. Allso if it is a good idear to run2 can my MoBo run it (Gigabyte GA-970A-D3).

#2 ae86represent

ae86represent

    Champion

  • Atomican
  • 146 posts

Posted 06 May 2012 - 06:53 PM

Hi Mate. Now I asume you already have on 6870 and want to add another? I which case you can. Your board supports CrossFireX. Though I question the value of doing this. Plus the 6870's are getting hard to come by. You might be better off simply upgrading to a faster single card solution.

#3 `angerfist

`angerfist

    Champion

  • Atomican
  • 164 posts
  • Location:Sydney, NSW

Posted 06 May 2012 - 07:57 PM

Well you can pick up a 6870 for under $160 (msy) and can get a rig that can put out some really good FPS on your games, even at 2560 x 1600. In CF they are very powerful and if you have a 6870 then I don't see why not get another and putting it in CF.

#4 Dasa

Dasa

    Apprentice

  • Super Hero
  • 14,234 posts

Posted 06 May 2012 - 10:26 PM

1g gpu mem and a few problems from crossfire would be why i wouldnt bother with 6870 crossfire but it would be able to almost double your fps in some games
2600k@4.8GHz 1.38v - Z77-GENE - 2x4g 1600 8-9-8 - 7970 1150\7000MHz 1.15v - OCZ Synapse 120g Seagate 2tb - Seasonic XP1000 - Dell U2711 - Pioneer Todoroki 5.1 Storm G5 - MCW60 - EK-VGA HF - MCP355 XSPC Restop - PA120.4 - Scythe GT 4x120 1440/1850rpm http://i3.photobucke...sa09/z77rog.jpg

#5 wraith676

wraith676

    Primarch

  • Atomican
  • 693 posts

Posted 07 May 2012 - 05:08 PM

I own this rig, 2 6780's in crossfire and i find once in a blue moon an issue with them. I also would like to note i play a fair amount of different games. Now Dasa is right in saying the 1gig of memory on the cards is a limiting factor. This is especially noticeable on games with high detail textures such as BF3 as you will seem to have a high amount of frames then notice some thrashing as the memory has to load other stuff in. Thats about the only issue i have found for this set up but to be completely honest i love it and have got nothing really bad to say about it.

#6 `angerfist

`angerfist

    Champion

  • Atomican
  • 164 posts
  • Location:Sydney, NSW

Posted 08 May 2012 - 11:05 PM

1g gpu mem and a few problems from crossfire would be why i wouldnt bother with 6870 crossfire


The 1g gpu memory is a downer but there's not many problems I've heard from or seen from a couple of my mates that run them. CF 6870s imo is actually a pretty damn good idea seeing as they are basically sub $150 and with the power they put out, I can't honestly see why not, especially if you are strapped for cash (not saying you are, just saying that's even more of a reason to get it).

#7 insertfunnyname

insertfunnyname

    Guru

  • Quark
  • 104 posts
  • Location:New Zealand Auckland

Posted 09 May 2012 - 03:22 PM

I don't see why not as long as your PSU is up to the job. For under $160 that's a really good deal. In the long run it would be better to get a powerful single GPU card like a 7950/7970 or even an overclocked 7870 but if you want a nice FPS boost there is no reason not to get another card. Just remember that your PSU will be under more stress, it can get pretty noisy and there will be more heat.
My baby: i5 2500K, ASUS P8Z68-V Pro Gen3, ASUS GTX 560 with 120MHz coreclock overclock, 8GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 RAM, Corsair AX650, Corsair H60 and Antec P280.

#8 elfenlied

elfenlied

    Immortal

  • Quark
  • 19 posts
  • Location:brisbane

Posted 09 May 2012 - 10:02 PM

I do have a 750W psu so will that run the both or will i have to go biger?

#9 insertfunnyname

insertfunnyname

    Guru

  • Quark
  • 104 posts
  • Location:New Zealand Auckland

Posted 10 May 2012 - 07:48 AM

A semi decent bronze rated or better 750W which is from a good brand like Seasonic or Corsair is more than enough for 6870 crossfire. However if you have a crap 750W PSU that is inefficent then well no it's going to struggle with Crossfire.

What exact model PSU do you have?

Also look at this thead: http://forums.atomic...p?showtopic=264
The maximum you will ever draw from the two cards combined is 292 watts. Add in another 100 - 175 watts for all the other parts like CPU and HDD etc and you will be around 470W although realisticly you would never really draw that much power.
Also use this tool to be sure: http://www.thermalta...ision.com/Power

Edit: WTF is brank I really need to learn to spell.

Edited by insertfunnyname, 10 May 2012 - 08:05 AM.

My baby: i5 2500K, ASUS P8Z68-V Pro Gen3, ASUS GTX 560 with 120MHz coreclock overclock, 8GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 RAM, Corsair AX650, Corsair H60 and Antec P280.

#10 elfenlied

elfenlied

    Immortal

  • Quark
  • 19 posts
  • Location:brisbane

Posted 10 May 2012 - 04:09 PM

My psu is a Thermaltake litepower. Would it be better to go out and buy a $300 card. Because soon i will be building a low end gaming pc for my mate and was thinking to sell him my old card and just buy a bigger card for my rig. But its hard to find a card around the $300 mark thats why i was thinking on going 2 6870s and if i do go 1 biger card what would be good around $300.

#11 Dasa

Dasa

    Apprentice

  • Super Hero
  • 14,234 posts

Posted 10 May 2012 - 04:29 PM

7870 2g $350

to give you an idea of how it performs vs 6870
http://www.techpower...HD_7870/26.html
2600k@4.8GHz 1.38v - Z77-GENE - 2x4g 1600 8-9-8 - 7970 1150\7000MHz 1.15v - OCZ Synapse 120g Seagate 2tb - Seasonic XP1000 - Dell U2711 - Pioneer Todoroki 5.1 Storm G5 - MCW60 - EK-VGA HF - MCP355 XSPC Restop - PA120.4 - Scythe GT 4x120 1440/1850rpm http://i3.photobucke...sa09/z77rog.jpg

#12 `angerfist

`angerfist

    Champion

  • Atomican
  • 164 posts
  • Location:Sydney, NSW

Posted 10 May 2012 - 06:36 PM

Hmmm as Dasa said, you can pick up a 7870 for around $350 and that has the performance just shy of a gtx 580, so you won't be needing to upgrade anytime soon after that :P. If not, a 7850 has the performance of the 6970 and you can pick them up for $250, so its really up to you. Both are brilliant cards especially for their price point.

#13 insertfunnyname

insertfunnyname

    Guru

  • Quark
  • 104 posts
  • Location:New Zealand Auckland

Posted 11 May 2012 - 07:39 AM

Well you could run two 6870's off that PSU. And as Dasa said you can get a 7870 which is a great card for the price. Personally I think the 7870 is the way to go as it will be cooler, quiter and draw less power. Also the 7870's overclock really well and you have 2GB VRAM which is plenty for a 1920x1080 resolution or lower.
My baby: i5 2500K, ASUS P8Z68-V Pro Gen3, ASUS GTX 560 with 120MHz coreclock overclock, 8GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 RAM, Corsair AX650, Corsair H60 and Antec P280.

#14 saluy

saluy

    Guru

  • Quark
  • 113 posts

Posted 20 May 2012 - 10:03 PM

For an extra $100 get a 670 they are beast. Also I have a Gigabyte SoC870 can I still CF it or would I need to find the exact match?
Intel i5 2500k, Gigabyte 6870 SOC, G-Z68X-UD3R-B3, OCZ Vertex 3 120 GB, WD Caviar Blue 1TB, thermaltake SopranoRS, ThermalTAke lightpower 600W, What is more likely to destroy the planet; Human stupidity or Global Warming?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users