• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 cornedbeef

cornedbeef

Serf

• Lurker
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 06:41 PM

considering studying a diploma of software development at tafe next year. i have little knowledge of programming; apart from what i've studied independently the last few months (fundamentals of C#) and the entry requirements prefer a "ICA40511 Certificate IV in IT - Programming." i've contacted tafe by phone and email on the matter and received different answers. if anyone is currently studying/completed studying this course recently or know of anyone who has, any advice on the level of knowledge appropriate would be appreciated. thank you

#2 smakme7757

smakme7757

Champion

• Atomican
  • 4,205 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:42 PM

Having a look here:
http://www.upskilled...(ica50711).aspx

A few of the units they offer are the follwing:
1. Apply intermediate programming skills in another language
2. Apply advanced object-oriented language skills
3. Debug and monitor applications

The words "Intermediate" and "Advanced" seems to suggest that they expect you to have at least the fundamentals before starting the course. I suppose it all depends how quickly you grasp the content. If you're unsure and really want to get into development i'd be more inclined to take a course more directed at getting the fundamentals in order before jumping in the deep end.

I could be wrong though, but that's just my take on it.

#3 p0is0n

p0is0n

Champion

• Atomican
  • 5,461 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 08:30 PM