Jump to content


Photo

NBN - Is it too expensive?


  • Please log in to reply
2139 replies to this topic

#2081 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,554 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 27 November 2017 - 11:25 AM

I might be hammering 25/5 connection once I start playing BF1 soon.

I have an Android TV, one laptop and 4 mobile devices (3 are mine) on my network. Yes add one laptop to that this week.

 

Funny thing is, like most things in Australian Politics, I'd agree if they tweaked their wording ever so slightly.

 

Rather than "25megs should be enough for any household"; I'd have agreed with "25megs should be enough for anyone".

Emphasis on the one.

It's MORE than bearable to balance a shitty 25Mb (so say, 19Mb in use?) connection to yourself.

And I can see that being doable for a seriously realistic amount of time.

I can see an individual easily maxing it out; but as a SINGLE user, you're able to slow your download to play your game, or such.

 

It's just such a different requirement to a household.


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#2082 aliali

aliali

    Titan

  • Super Hero
  • 24,479 posts

Posted 27 November 2017 - 12:54 PM

Oooo errr.

https://www.nbnco.co...experience.html

 

 

NBN Co today announced it is introducing new initiatives aimed at raising the standard of service quality when declaring the Hybrid Coaxial-Fibre (HFC) network is “ready to connect” (RTC). The move is part of a broader program to improve customer experience

Etc etc.

Talk about a lot of bullshit spin. They done fucked up and are trying to spin fixing their fuckup as something good.


Of course you are my bright little star,

I've miles and miles of files pretty files of your forefather's fruit,

and now to suit our great computer. You're magnetic ink.


#2083 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,554 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 27 November 2017 - 01:38 PM

13261032_241731782862689_1024335282_n.jp


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#2084 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,391 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 27 November 2017 - 01:56 PM

Weird, because I can saturate my connection via usenet headers or steam updates or dropbox syncing, and still game with acceptable ping, and youtube on the TV still works (tho' it spends more time buffering) and drop down in quality to 720p.

I may sync at 14mbps but I'm lucky to get 1.2MB down.

 

The only local issues I notice are when dropbox is syncing up from a phone, and uplink is saturated, and when there's local exchange congestion.


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#2085 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,554 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 27 November 2017 - 02:36 PM

Weird, because I can saturate my connection via usenet headers or steam updates or dropbox syncing, and still game with acceptable ping, and youtube on the TV still works (tho' it spends more time buffering) and drop down in quality to 720p.

I may sync at 14mbps but I'm lucky to get 1.2MB down.

 

The only local issues I notice are when dropbox is syncing up from a phone, and uplink is saturated, and when there's local exchange congestion.

 

You're right, that is particularly weird.

Saturation in either direction should result in exponential ping increases....

You're either not actually saturating it, or your game's ping is lying to you.

 

The second I get above 98% utilization, my ping jumps from 25ms to 200+ms.

and therefore, unplayable :(


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#2086 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,391 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 27 November 2017 - 02:51 PM

Maybe my router has better QoS than yours?


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#2087 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,554 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 27 November 2017 - 03:07 PM

Maybe my router has better QoS than yours?

 

QoS can't work properly on downlink; it needs to be implemented at the server end to work.

Basically because once the data is sent, your PC can reject the packets if it wants, but they STILL hit the router, and then it has to RE-send them anyway, when it thinks you're ready.

Some servers are getting clever and notice the slow down, and adjust accordingly, but that's exceedingly rare.

 

Besides, Steam and Dropbox should be UDP packets, and there ain't no QoS-ing that!


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#2088 eveln

eveln

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 16,937 posts
  • Location:Nth QLD

Posted 22 January 2018 - 05:33 PM

Alright ! With everything going according to plan we should be FTN'd on 5th Feb.


 Laugh to Live . Live to Laugh.

atomic has π


#2089 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,926 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 22 January 2018 - 05:37 PM

If it's with Telstra, good luck

“We’re not going to stop the wheel. I’m going to break the wheel.” - Daenerys Targaryen

 

"We have some of the most beautiful hookers in the world" - Putin to Trump


#2090 eveln

eveln

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 16,937 posts
  • Location:Nth QLD

Posted 22 January 2018 - 05:50 PM

no. not Telstra


 Laugh to Live . Live to Laugh.

atomic has π


#2091 SquallStrife

SquallStrife

    Really knows where his towel is

  • Atomican
  • 18,023 posts

Posted 24 January 2018 - 02:37 PM

root@atom:~# speedtest-cli
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Testing from iiNet Limited (118.210.195.216)...
Selecting best server based on latency...
Hosted by Internode (Brisbane) [0.40 km]: 5.848 ms
Testing download speed........................................
Download: 94.46 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed..................................................
Upload: 28.84 Mbit/s
*shrugs* It does the job.

QoS can't work properly on downlink; it needs to be implemented at the server end to work.


TCP is stateful, if you delay the return of ACK packets, the server should stop sending them until you "catch up".
SyDjDDk.png [retro swim] | AzpUvwG.png @retroswimau | q5O6HgO.png +RetroSwim
四時半を待っています!

#2092 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,554 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 24 January 2018 - 02:45 PM

root@atom:~# speedtest-cli
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Testing from iiNet Limited (118.210.195.216)...
Selecting best server based on latency...
Hosted by Internode (Brisbane) [0.40 km]: 5.848 ms
Testing download speed........................................
Download: 94.46 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed..................................................
Upload: 28.84 Mbit/s
*shrugs* It does the job.

QoS can't work properly on downlink; it needs to be implemented at the server end to work.


TCP is stateful, if you delay the return of ACK packets, the server should stop sending them until you "catch up".

 

 

You're right, but it so often doesn't.

There's only so long you can delay the ACK before it times out or considers it lost.

 

And then you have UDP in the mix also....


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#2093 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,926 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 19 April 2018 - 11:07 AM

http://www.abc.net.a...et-fttc/9674884

 

You can check if you're getting FTTC


“We’re not going to stop the wheel. I’m going to break the wheel.” - Daenerys Targaryen

 

"We have some of the most beautiful hookers in the world" - Putin to Trump


#2094 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,773 posts

Posted 19 April 2018 - 12:45 PM

N here.  They've been doing fibre laying in various areas around here, supposedly NBN should be available for me in June.

Junk mail received so far from Telstra and TPG.



#2095 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,926 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 19 April 2018 - 01:03 PM

 

Playschool and NBN! Winnar


“We’re not going to stop the wheel. I’m going to break the wheel.” - Daenerys Targaryen

 

"We have some of the most beautiful hookers in the world" - Putin to Trump


#2096 TheManFromPOST

TheManFromPOST

    Not to be trifled with

  • Hero
  • 8,583 posts

Posted 19 April 2018 - 03:31 PM

 

http://www.abc.net.a...et-fttc/9674884
 
You can check if you're getting FTTC

 

meh, fibre to the premise here man

#2097 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,773 posts

Posted 19 April 2018 - 04:37 PM

The (maybe) good news here is that the local drab olive box is only about 80 metres down the road.



#2098 Cybes

Cybes

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 18,346 posts
  • Location:Where I am

Posted 19 April 2018 - 10:44 PM

The (maybe) good news here is that the local drab olive box is only about 80 metres down the road.


Mine's across the road and one house down. Still drops 4Mb on that epic journey. ;p

"Reality does not care what you think." - Dr Richard Feynman
"There is no "I" in team." - "True.  I will not be found in any team."


#2099 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,773 posts

Posted 19 April 2018 - 11:17 PM

How do you mean?  4 Mb from what your plan promises or 4 Mb compared to someone directly adjacent to it?


Edited by Rybags, 19 April 2018 - 11:17 PM.


#2100 Cybes

Cybes

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 18,346 posts
  • Location:Where I am

Posted 20 April 2018 - 03:21 AM

How do you mean?  4 Mb from what your plan promises or 4 Mb compared to someone directly adjacent to it?

 

I'm just a regular guy without the tech toys to diagnose line issues; what I can tell you is the speed doesn't vary much with time of day, and that it also had about the same lossage when I was on a slower plan.  To me, that doesn't sound like contention - it sounds systemic.


"Reality does not care what you think." - Dr Richard Feynman
"There is no "I" in team." - "True.  I will not be found in any team."





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users