Jump to content


Photo

NBN - Is it too expensive?


  • Please log in to reply
2086 replies to this topic

#2081 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,282 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 27 November 2017 - 11:25 AM

I might be hammering 25/5 connection once I start playing BF1 soon.

I have an Android TV, one laptop and 4 mobile devices (3 are mine) on my network. Yes add one laptop to that this week.

 

Funny thing is, like most things in Australian Politics, I'd agree if they tweaked their wording ever so slightly.

 

Rather than "25megs should be enough for any household"; I'd have agreed with "25megs should be enough for anyone".

Emphasis on the one.

It's MORE than bearable to balance a shitty 25Mb (so say, 19Mb in use?) connection to yourself.

And I can see that being doable for a seriously realistic amount of time.

I can see an individual easily maxing it out; but as a SINGLE user, you're able to slow your download to play your game, or such.

 

It's just such a different requirement to a household.


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#2082 aliali

aliali

    Titan

  • Super Hero
  • 24,433 posts

Posted 27 November 2017 - 12:54 PM

Oooo errr.

https://www.nbnco.co...experience.html

 

 

NBN Co today announced it is introducing new initiatives aimed at raising the standard of service quality when declaring the Hybrid Coaxial-Fibre (HFC) network is “ready to connect” (RTC). The move is part of a broader program to improve customer experience

Etc etc.

Talk about a lot of bullshit spin. They done fucked up and are trying to spin fixing their fuckup as something good.


Of course you are my bright little star,

I've miles and miles of files pretty files of your forefather's fruit,

and now to suit our great computer. You're magnetic ink.


#2083 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,282 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 27 November 2017 - 01:38 PM

13261032_241731782862689_1024335282_n.jp


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#2084 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,326 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 27 November 2017 - 01:56 PM

Weird, because I can saturate my connection via usenet headers or steam updates or dropbox syncing, and still game with acceptable ping, and youtube on the TV still works (tho' it spends more time buffering) and drop down in quality to 720p.

I may sync at 14mbps but I'm lucky to get 1.2MB down.

 

The only local issues I notice are when dropbox is syncing up from a phone, and uplink is saturated, and when there's local exchange congestion.


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#2085 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,282 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 27 November 2017 - 02:36 PM

Weird, because I can saturate my connection via usenet headers or steam updates or dropbox syncing, and still game with acceptable ping, and youtube on the TV still works (tho' it spends more time buffering) and drop down in quality to 720p.

I may sync at 14mbps but I'm lucky to get 1.2MB down.

 

The only local issues I notice are when dropbox is syncing up from a phone, and uplink is saturated, and when there's local exchange congestion.

 

You're right, that is particularly weird.

Saturation in either direction should result in exponential ping increases....

You're either not actually saturating it, or your game's ping is lying to you.

 

The second I get above 98% utilization, my ping jumps from 25ms to 200+ms.

and therefore, unplayable :(


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#2086 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,326 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 27 November 2017 - 02:51 PM

Maybe my router has better QoS than yours?


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#2087 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,282 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 27 November 2017 - 03:07 PM

Maybe my router has better QoS than yours?

 

QoS can't work properly on downlink; it needs to be implemented at the server end to work.

Basically because once the data is sent, your PC can reject the packets if it wants, but they STILL hit the router, and then it has to RE-send them anyway, when it thinks you're ready.

Some servers are getting clever and notice the slow down, and adjust accordingly, but that's exceedingly rare.

 

Besides, Steam and Dropbox should be UDP packets, and there ain't no QoS-ing that!


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users