Jump to content


Photo

$300 to spend? How long do I wait?


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 Mr.Twinkie

Mr.Twinkie

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,327 posts
  • Location:Check your windows....

Posted 10 August 2014 - 10:44 PM

Looking to replace my Radeon 5850 to play games with more eye candy. R9 280X or GTX 760 or something?

PC Specs: ASUS P7P55D-E Deluxe | i7 860 | R9 390 | Corsair TX-750W | 4GB G-Skill Ripjaws + 8GB Corsair Dominator | Antec 902 Case | ASUS MG279Q IPS Freesync Monitor

 

My momma always said I was special.


#2 gamble

gamble

    Primarch

  • Atomican
  • 1,332 posts

Posted 11 August 2014 - 08:09 AM

Supposed new cards are coming in two months so price could drop or might have more options... Target either 280x or gtx 770 for cheapest price... gtx 770 is probably 5% faster but will probably not notice this when gaming. The 280x does have more vram too so this might be the better choice and probably a bit cheaper but uses more power too. If I had the choice with price out of the picture, the 280x for more vram. Also, the 280x is a rebadge of the hd 7970 with slightly slower clocks on the core but usually higher memory clocks and is basically the same thing and will probably be even cheaper.

Performance:
http://www.techpower...u_II_OC/24.html

HAF 912 | ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty-M | Delidded Direct Die 3770k@4.7ghz/1.3v | ASUS Turbo GTX1070 2ghz | Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB 2400 10-12-12-28 T1 | EK Watercooled CPU | 512GB Vertex 4 & PCI 550GB XtremSF SSDs | 3 x HDD's | EVGA G2 1300W (24/7 OC)


#3 mark84

mark84

    Champion

  • Hero
  • 5,711 posts

Posted 18 August 2014 - 12:21 PM

Once the R9 285 comes out the 280X should drop into your budget range. Won't be long before 285 comes out, maybe a couple weeks. Sept arrival date. GTX770 I'm not sure will price drop any time soon (though it might respond to 280X drop). Next nVidia card to come out will be GTX 880 ish, don't think the 770 will move price wise voluntarily for time being. 280X will be your best bet if you can wait. If not, your choice is R9 280 or GTX 760 for $300 or less. GTX 760 would be my pick, but they're just about even on performance.

Desktop: i7 6850K @ 4.3GHz | Titan X (Pascal) | 32GB RAM | 120GB + 500GB SSDs | 2x 5TB HDD in RAID1

Server: G3258 @4.6GHz | 120GB SSD | 2x 4TB RAID1 | 2x 6TB RAID1

Desktop build log | Firefox AtomicMPC Menu | The Truth About Graphics Power Requirements V2 | CPU bench league

www.atomicsimracing.net - The place for Atomicans who love motor sports and sim racing.


#4 nobody813

nobody813

    Champion

  • Atomican
  • 6,529 posts
  • Location:Tasmania

Posted 18 August 2014 - 01:55 PM

Off-topic: I'm looking forward to seeing what the R9 285 brings. Might be the card for me

Edited by nobody813, 18 August 2014 - 01:56 PM.

"Nobody, including Nobody, knows what Nobody is doing..." - millen

 

Intel Core i5 4670K | ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | 16GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 | EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 4GB | Cogage Arrow | 500GB Samsung 850 Evo | 2TB & 1TB Seagate 7200.14's | Corsair HX-650W | Fractal Design Arc Midi


#5 Mr.Twinkie

Mr.Twinkie

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,327 posts
  • Location:Check your windows....

Posted 18 August 2014 - 06:31 PM

Is the extra VRAM say 3gb to 4gb actually efficient and usuable in the graphics card? Many people in the intervebs have outcries that there's no software atm that's advanced enough to use more than 2gb of VRAM and by the time it does, the graphics card would be much more powerful than it is now.

PC Specs: ASUS P7P55D-E Deluxe | i7 860 | R9 390 | Corsair TX-750W | 4GB G-Skill Ripjaws + 8GB Corsair Dominator | Antec 902 Case | ASUS MG279Q IPS Freesync Monitor

 

My momma always said I was special.


#6 mark84

mark84

    Champion

  • Hero
  • 5,711 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 07:00 PM

There is an element of that yes. 2GB is the sweet spot atm for games and with the cards you're looking at more than 2GB likely wont ever be required.

 

R9 290 series and up or GTX 780 and up are the 3GB zone.


Desktop: i7 6850K @ 4.3GHz | Titan X (Pascal) | 32GB RAM | 120GB + 500GB SSDs | 2x 5TB HDD in RAID1

Server: G3258 @4.6GHz | 120GB SSD | 2x 4TB RAID1 | 2x 6TB RAID1

Desktop build log | Firefox AtomicMPC Menu | The Truth About Graphics Power Requirements V2 | CPU bench league

www.atomicsimracing.net - The place for Atomicans who love motor sports and sim racing.


#7 .:Cyb3rGlitch:.

.:Cyb3rGlitch:.

    Hero

  • Mod
  • 21,359 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 07:04 PM

There is an element of that yes. 2GB is the sweet spot atm for games and with the cards you're looking at more than 2GB likely wont ever be required.
 
R9 290 series and up or GTX 780 and up are the 3GB zone.

I don't know, consoles have quite a lot of VRAM, so games will start to optimise for memory.

"We are a way for the cosmos to know itself." - Carl Sagan
"I do not fear death. I had been dead for billions and billions of years before I was born, and had not suffered the slightest inconvenience from it." - Mark Twain
 
An open mind is willing to consider new ideas, while provisionally accepting those backed by empirical evidence, and provisionally rejecting those without.


#8 Dasa

Dasa

    Guru

  • Super Hero
  • 14,783 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 07:24 PM

7950\280 3g $250 are decent value and oc well

280x start at $319

secondhand 290 4g ~$300 may be a good option


Silverstone TJ08-EW 6700k@4.7 1.375v - Z170-GENE - 2x8g 3866 16-16-16 - 1070@ 2100\9600MHz  -Samsung 830 64G, Sandisk Ultra II 960G, WD Green 3tb - Seasonic XP1050 - Dell U2713 - Pioneer Todoroki 5.1 Apogee Drive II - EK VGA-HF Supreme  - Phobia 200mm Rad - Silverstone AP181 Project Darkling
3770k vs 6700k RAM Scaling, HT vs RAM, Arma III CPU vs RAM, Thief CPU vs RAM
Parts Guide


#9 mark84

mark84

    Champion

  • Hero
  • 5,711 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 12:25 PM

 

I don't know, consoles have quite a lot of VRAM, so games will start to optimise for memory.

 

Yes and no. I'm not entirely up on the consoles, cause I dont care for them, but quick search shows:

PS4 has 8GB of GDDR5 unified system memory that needs to serve both the OS as well as game system memory and video memory.

The XBone has, 8GB DDR3 system memory, 5GB of which is reserved for games.

 

Besides, those are aimed at 1080p 30fps(?), with middling anti aliasing I suspect compared to top end PC capabilities. It's not going to push much on using more than 2GB of the system memory really.


Desktop: i7 6850K @ 4.3GHz | Titan X (Pascal) | 32GB RAM | 120GB + 500GB SSDs | 2x 5TB HDD in RAID1

Server: G3258 @4.6GHz | 120GB SSD | 2x 4TB RAID1 | 2x 6TB RAID1

Desktop build log | Firefox AtomicMPC Menu | The Truth About Graphics Power Requirements V2 | CPU bench league

www.atomicsimracing.net - The place for Atomicans who love motor sports and sim racing.


#10 gamble

gamble

    Primarch

  • Atomican
  • 1,332 posts

Posted 20 August 2014 - 10:14 PM

Theres games that already use over 2gb of vram if its available at 1080... Like bf4, sleeping dogs...  If its already being used, more games will use it too.  If I told you at stock both were within 5% but one has an extra 1gb of vram, Id go with the extra vram.  If you search your favorite games and add vram usage at the end, might be surprised.


Edited by gamble, 20 August 2014 - 10:37 PM.

HAF 912 | ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty-M | Delidded Direct Die 3770k@4.7ghz/1.3v | ASUS Turbo GTX1070 2ghz | Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB 2400 10-12-12-28 T1 | EK Watercooled CPU | 512GB Vertex 4 & PCI 550GB XtremSF SSDs | 3 x HDD's | EVGA G2 1300W (24/7 OC)


#11 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 42,962 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 20 August 2014 - 10:25 PM

Is the VRAM being used just for textures, or it also gets used for filtering (AA etc)?
"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#12 gamble

gamble

    Primarch

  • Atomican
  • 1,332 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 03:57 AM

don't know all the workings of vram but this was interesting to read on Crysis 3:

 

http://www.guru3d.co...enchmark,8.html


Edited by gamble, 21 August 2014 - 03:58 AM.

HAF 912 | ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty-M | Delidded Direct Die 3770k@4.7ghz/1.3v | ASUS Turbo GTX1070 2ghz | Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB 2400 10-12-12-28 T1 | EK Watercooled CPU | 512GB Vertex 4 & PCI 550GB XtremSF SSDs | 3 x HDD's | EVGA G2 1300W (24/7 OC)


#13 mark84

mark84

    Champion

  • Hero
  • 5,711 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 01:23 PM

Is the VRAM being used just for textures, or it also gets used for filtering (AA etc)?

Both.

Resolution affects it alot as does many AA types. The higher the resolution to render (and number of monitors) = bigger texture footprint.

 

SSAA iirc essentially renders the game at 4x the resolution then shrinks it down to fit your monitor, is very VRAM and GPU intensive (cause everything is 4x), not often seen or used as a result, but may end up looking the best.

MSAA does add but not nearly as bad at Super sampling maybe a couple hundred MB per sample rate.

FXAA (which I suspect consoles would rely more on as less overheads) I don't think does, or nearly as much as it's a quick shader program that just works on the final image output.

 

 

On this BF4 bench: THIS IMAGE (sorry forums wont let me embed it) shows in BF4 uses <1.6GB for a higher than 1080p rez at Ultra detail.

 

 

From Gambles Crysis3 link, this is a good image. MSAA 4x sits in 2GB nicely.

 

 

FXAA is the best for VRAM, hundreds of MB in savings to be had, if a title pushes VRAM limits just use that if the option is there. Most AAA titles that'll push over 2GB should have FXAA as an option anyway.

 

I'm not saying 2GB is all the OP will ever need, but at that $300 price bracket you can get away with it atm, especially if just powering a single 1080p monitor.

If you can get a card with more on it, sure go for it, but there kind of is a balancing act between GPU grunt and VRAM, along with resolution, desired detail settings, FPS and monitor count. Each affects the others.

A GTX 730 with 4GB VRAM doesn't make it better than a GTX 770 with 2GB... it just all depends on the situation and desired outcome.


Edited by mark84, 21 August 2014 - 01:25 PM.

Desktop: i7 6850K @ 4.3GHz | Titan X (Pascal) | 32GB RAM | 120GB + 500GB SSDs | 2x 5TB HDD in RAID1

Server: G3258 @4.6GHz | 120GB SSD | 2x 4TB RAID1 | 2x 6TB RAID1

Desktop build log | Firefox AtomicMPC Menu | The Truth About Graphics Power Requirements V2 | CPU bench league

www.atomicsimracing.net - The place for Atomicans who love motor sports and sim racing.


#14 gamble

gamble

    Primarch

  • Atomican
  • 1,332 posts

Posted 21 August 2014 - 10:48 PM

Its strange that is what its showing for bf4.  I played last night and was at over 2045mb used consistently...  That is at 1080p with everything maxed.


HAF 912 | ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty-M | Delidded Direct Die 3770k@4.7ghz/1.3v | ASUS Turbo GTX1070 2ghz | Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB 2400 10-12-12-28 T1 | EK Watercooled CPU | 512GB Vertex 4 & PCI 550GB XtremSF SSDs | 3 x HDD's | EVGA G2 1300W (24/7 OC)


#15 mark84

mark84

    Champion

  • Hero
  • 5,711 posts

Posted 22 August 2014 - 12:19 PM

Pehaps its the level you're playing.

 

2045MB is still <2GB, just ;)


Desktop: i7 6850K @ 4.3GHz | Titan X (Pascal) | 32GB RAM | 120GB + 500GB SSDs | 2x 5TB HDD in RAID1

Server: G3258 @4.6GHz | 120GB SSD | 2x 4TB RAID1 | 2x 6TB RAID1

Desktop build log | Firefox AtomicMPC Menu | The Truth About Graphics Power Requirements V2 | CPU bench league

www.atomicsimracing.net - The place for Atomicans who love motor sports and sim racing.


#16 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 42,962 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 22 August 2014 - 12:42 PM

I was quite surprised to see that even 1440p was basically below 2GB, too.


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#17 Mr.Twinkie

Mr.Twinkie

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,327 posts
  • Location:Check your windows....

Posted 01 September 2014 - 08:16 PM

Wow what a great insight into VRAM.

 

Thanks guys! Will keep waiting for a drop in 280X.


PC Specs: ASUS P7P55D-E Deluxe | i7 860 | R9 390 | Corsair TX-750W | 4GB G-Skill Ripjaws + 8GB Corsair Dominator | Antec 902 Case | ASUS MG279Q IPS Freesync Monitor

 

My momma always said I was special.


#18 gamble

gamble

    Primarch

  • Atomican
  • 1,332 posts

Posted 01 September 2014 - 09:00 PM

R9 285 is releasing tomorrow with 2gb...  Performance will be interesting since it's priced at 250US and we might have some benchmarks really soon.   Hope it's a good performer to help prices on current cards. 


HAF 912 | ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty-M | Delidded Direct Die 3770k@4.7ghz/1.3v | ASUS Turbo GTX1070 2ghz | Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB 2400 10-12-12-28 T1 | EK Watercooled CPU | 512GB Vertex 4 & PCI 550GB XtremSF SSDs | 3 x HDD's | EVGA G2 1300W (24/7 OC)


#19 Captain Awesome!

Captain Awesome!

    Journeyman

  • Validating
  • 209 posts

Posted 01 September 2014 - 10:13 PM

If you're not planning to Crossfire/SLI, then AMD pretty much has the game won.

 

If you are, then Nvidia has the game won.

 

Why don't you just get a sweet, sweet R9 290x?

 

You know you wanna.

 

;-)


Edited by Captain Awesome!, 01 September 2014 - 10:14 PM.

Romans are OP.


#20 mark84

mark84

    Champion

  • Hero
  • 5,711 posts

Posted 04 September 2014 - 10:24 PM

R9 285 is releasing tomorrow with 2gb...  Performance will be interesting since it's priced at 250US and we might have some benchmarks really soon.   Hope it's a good performer to help prices on current cards. 

GTX 770 has now been reduced in reply so its costs reflects its performance better. From US$325 now down to US$275.


Desktop: i7 6850K @ 4.3GHz | Titan X (Pascal) | 32GB RAM | 120GB + 500GB SSDs | 2x 5TB HDD in RAID1

Server: G3258 @4.6GHz | 120GB SSD | 2x 4TB RAID1 | 2x 6TB RAID1

Desktop build log | Firefox AtomicMPC Menu | The Truth About Graphics Power Requirements V2 | CPU bench league

www.atomicsimracing.net - The place for Atomicans who love motor sports and sim racing.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users