3 replies to this topic

#1 Hippiekiller

Hippiekiller

Primarch

• Atomican
  • 1,206 posts

Posted 27 October 2014 - 12:24 PM

Hello,

I have half a dozen different mobile devices, Galaxy NOTE Tabs, Ipads, Samsung Tablets etc etc.

If I wanted to hand those devices out in say a cafe and have the users only be able to browse to certain websites, say "forums.atomicmpc.com.au" what would be the best way to do this?

Initially I am thinking a proxy server, but I have never done this before and was wondering if there are other ways to achieve this on tablets and other mobile devices?

If the simplest solution would be a proxy server, I used smoothwall many moons ago and was going to have a crack with this.

Any ideas / help / pointers would be appreciated.

Thanks!

And if I have posted in the wrong forum, apologies about that and I can repost in another one if ncessary.

#2 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

Titan

• Hero
  • 20,211 posts

Posted 27 October 2014 - 01:39 PM

There are literally dozens of ways to do this, but what you need is content filtering running on a gateway; there are TONS of programs to do this on Linux. The low choice option would be a RaspberryPi, and a USB wifi card.

That way, your client deviced Ad-Hoc wifi to the rPi, which filters their stuff, but all your hardwired machines are limit free, as they bypass the gateway and hit the router directly.

Personally, I'd be attacking the 'problem sites' rather than blanketing the whole internet.

For example, if facebook, youtube, and zombo.com are taking all your bandwith; then I'd purchase a router, or make a gateway with basic content filtering and block those URL's specifically. Ive found its less frustrating overall to the clients, but it saves your data use. Some routers can even do 'keyword' filtering. I think my Billion 7800nl can....

a third option is to use a 3rd party DNS server. Like OpenDNS and use their pretty vast 'categories' to block things.

http://www.opendns.c...ental-controls/