Jump to content


Photo

To download Windows 10 or keep Windows 8.1?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 TazDCassar

TazDCassar

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 47 posts

Posted 03 June 2015 - 11:13 AM

Not sure if I should download Windows 10 when it comes out. As I am quite happy with Windows 8.1. Should I cancel the reservation? What do you guys think? As I like the setup I have now as I used Classic Shell to set up the start menu as Windows 7 (I think) Thanks.



#2 codecreeper

codecreeper

    Champion

  • Atomican
  • 5,020 posts
  • Location:Adelaide, South Australia

Posted 03 June 2015 - 11:18 AM

I am keeping Windows 7 for various reasons. One main thing that has me worried that its compulsory that you download all updates when MS says so.

 

If this is so ,will they stop all competition too in software on Windows 10 such as browsers and viewers and other programs.

 

As i have heard some games are unstable in WIndows 10 ,just a rumour has i have not seen anything yet.


Edited by codecreeper, 03 June 2015 - 11:18 AM.

Life is like a Straw , ...... it sucks.

 

 


#3 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 19,970 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 03 June 2015 - 12:01 PM

I am keeping Windows 7 for various reasons. One main thing that has me worried that its compulsory that you download all updates when MS says so.

 

If this is so ,will they stop all competition too in software on Windows 10 such as browsers and viewers and other programs.

 

As i have heard some games are unstable in WIndows 10 ,just a rumour has i have not seen anything yet.

 

1. If compulsory updates mean ones marked 'important', then FINALLY. stop the noobs not patching known vulerabilities.  it its for 'optional' patches, then thats retarded. Not everyone has enough internet allowance.

 

2. No, thats called Monopolising and is illegal. It would also cripple their business partners.

 

3. So long as they're done through steam, the instability will be patched out quick smart. How long did it take them to stabilise SteamOS (aka. Custom Ubuntu)? a week, if that.


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#4 nobody813

nobody813

    Champion

  • Atomican
  • 6,534 posts
  • Location:Tasmania

Posted 03 June 2015 - 12:50 PM

I'll upgrade to Windows 10 a few weeks/months after it's released. However, I DO NOT want to do it through Windows Update; I'd sooner install a fresh copy of Windows 10. Even now it's annoying having to install Windows 8 and then upgrade to Windows 8.1 (Windows 8 keys can't be used on a fresh 8.1 install)

 

I'm also unsure what happens to my old Windows 7/8 keys once I do this upgrade


Edited by nobody813, 03 June 2015 - 12:51 PM.

"Nobody, including Nobody, knows what Nobody is doing..." - millen

 

Intel Core i5 4670K | ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | 16GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 | EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 4GB | Cogage Arrow | 500GB Samsung 850 Evo | 2TB & 1TB Seagate 7200.14's | Corsair RM650i | Fractal Design Arc Midi


#5 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,077 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 03 June 2015 - 03:14 PM

http://www.howtogeek...-windows-8-key/


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#6 bowlen

bowlen

    Overlord

  • Atomican
  • 3,199 posts

Posted 16 June 2015 - 02:04 PM

I am going to be getting it as soon as it comes out.  I have the technical preview running in a VM and it's rather nice.  


Intel i7 3770k | Corsair 32GB Kit DDR3 | Vengeance C9 1600MHz | Samsung 250gb SSD | WD Caviar Green 3tb | WD Caviar Green 2tb | Seagate Barracuda 4tb | WD Black 2TB | AFOX GeForce GTX660 | TI ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty Professional LGA1155 ATX | Thermaltake Chaser A31 USB3.0 Black Mid Tower | Samsung 21.5" HD LED x 2 | Corsair AX860 860W 80PLUS


#7 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,077 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 16 June 2015 - 11:01 PM

Still no invite on my desktop.  Might have to do a fresh reinstall in a month or so : \


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#8 mudjimba

mudjimba

    Journeyman

  • Atomican
  • 201 posts

Posted 17 June 2015 - 11:01 AM

Have you tried installing updates?



#9 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,077 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 17 June 2015 - 12:12 PM

Since re-activating my 8.1 install on essentially a new PC, there are a few updates it just errors out on.  I assume it's one of those.


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#10 mudjimba

mudjimba

    Journeyman

  • Atomican
  • 201 posts

Posted 17 June 2015 - 12:34 PM

Run a 'chkdsk C:' and make sure there's no fs issues.

Run 'dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth' restart and check updates and try again.



#11 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,077 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 18 June 2015 - 01:39 AM

Essentially:

C:\>sfc /scannow

Beginning system scan.  This process will take some time.

Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation.

C:\>dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 6.3.9600.17031

Image Version: 6.3.9600.17031

[==========================100.0%==========================]

Error: 14098

The component store has been corrupted.

The DISM log file can be found at C:\WINDOWS\Logs\DISM\dism.log

 

 

WindowsUpdateDiagnostic.diagcab runs and says it has fixed things but essentially it just means that windows update sits there forever doing pretty much sfa.


Edited by Nich..., 18 June 2015 - 01:39 AM.

"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#12 mudjimba

mudjimba

    Journeyman

  • Atomican
  • 201 posts

Posted 18 June 2015 - 01:52 PM

Still no invite on my desktop.  Might have to do a fresh reinstall in a month or so : \

 

That sucks, it's a frustrating pita and possibly waste of time trying to repair from here. Better off spending your time drinking beer or the many other joys of life. Unless you enjoy it.



#13 SceptreCore

SceptreCore

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,745 posts

Posted 28 June 2015 - 09:41 PM

Essentially:

C:\>sfc /scannow

Beginning system scan.  This process will take some time.

Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation.
C:\>dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 6.3.9600.17031

Image Version: 6.3.9600.17031

[==========================100.0%==========================]

Error: 14098

The component store has been corrupted.

The DISM log file can be found at C:\WINDOWS\Logs\DISM\dism.log

WindowsUpdateDiagnostic.diagcab runs and says it has fixed things but essentially it just means that windows update sits there forever doing pretty much sfa.

What about renaming the current Component Cache file to .old? Then redo do your updates - I know that sounds annoying. I can't remember how I fixed updating problems for a client a while back, but it took some digging through the internet to find the information I needed.


RIG: Phenom II X2 550 @ 4.0GHz | MSI 990FXA GD-80 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 | Radeon HD6450 | Patriot Pyro SSD 120GB SATAIII | 500GB + 1TB Barracuda's | LG GH22NS70 DVD-RW | Xigmatek Red Scorpion | Corsair HX650W | CM690


#14 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,077 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 28 June 2015 - 11:37 PM

I wasn't aware it was a defined file or folder that could be renamed.

 

Non-issue now, tho', I installed the win10pro preview.


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#15 Director

Director

    Immortal

  • Hero
  • 40,460 posts

Posted 29 June 2015 - 02:29 PM

Yeah won't be going for W10 until they unfuck the updates.  I want to choose what does and doesn't get updated thanks.


"The most powerful tool in the hand of the opressor is the mind of the opressed."-- Steve Biko

Those Who Dance Are Considered Insane by Those Who Can’t Hear the Music.


#16 redrob

redrob

    Master

  • Atomican
  • 824 posts
  • Location:way up north

Posted 04 September 2015 - 01:29 PM

didnt get windows 8 and will not be getting windows 10 ,happy with how i have windows 7 setup seems smooth as for now.


some people worry bout the splinter in an others eye and forget about the log in there own

 

Cooler Master Cosmos SE case, ,Corsair HX 650 w ,Corsair H 100i Cooler , ,ASUS MG279Q 27inch WQHD IPS FreeSync Monitor


#17 Director

Director

    Immortal

  • Hero
  • 40,460 posts

Posted 04 September 2015 - 04:39 PM

Yeah been running 10 since it came out. It's OK but I'm not seeing anything better than 7 for my own day to day use.  The auto updates has fucked a few of my customers who have low monthly quota plans.  Once I turned off all the spying and ran a VBS to uninstall a lot of MS bloatware. :)


"The most powerful tool in the hand of the opressor is the mind of the opressed."-- Steve Biko

Those Who Dance Are Considered Insane by Those Who Can’t Hear the Music.


#18 bushi

bushi

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,748 posts

Posted 17 September 2015 - 03:38 PM

(Windows 8 keys can't be used on a fresh 8.1 install

 

Not true.  I installed 8.1 fresh with an original 8 key just recently.


http://bfbc2.statsve...pc/squatter.png i7 875k | Intel DP55KG | 6GB G-Skill Pi | Inno3D GTX580 1GB | 120GB Intel 520 + 1.5TB (+ 1.5TB backup) Seagate | Pioneer BDR-206BK | Auzentech Prelude 7.1 | Hauppauge 2200 PVR | Corsair AX750 | Silverstone FT-02BW

#19 nobody813

nobody813

    Champion

  • Atomican
  • 6,534 posts
  • Location:Tasmania

Posted 17 September 2015 - 06:44 PM

 

(Windows 8 keys can't be used on a fresh 8.1 install

 

Not true.  I installed 8.1 fresh with an original 8 key just recently.

 

Never worked for me :-/

 

Though I do have Windows 8 Upgrade, not OEM or Full Install


"Nobody, including Nobody, knows what Nobody is doing..." - millen

 

Intel Core i5 4670K | ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | 16GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 | EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 4GB | Cogage Arrow | 500GB Samsung 850 Evo | 2TB & 1TB Seagate 7200.14's | Corsair RM650i | Fractal Design Arc Midi





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users