3 replies to this topic

#1 knight_rider1

knight_rider1

Serf

• Lurker
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 July 2015 - 07:26 AM

Hi All!

I want to learn to code Android Apps. I have no experience (aside from some BASIC coding back in school), but I have plenty of motivation. 

I've found thenewboston website and the video tutorials looks really good, but they assume some coding knowledge which I need to get before proceding.

So, should I learn some C or JAVA first?

Or feel free to tell me otherwise.

I'd really like a plan of attack for the process of learning all this, as it's rather over whelming for a noob when presented with so much information and slightly differing opinions on what to learn first.

Thanks in advance.

Donald.

#2 .:Cyb3rGlitch:.

.:Cyb3rGlitch:.

Hero

• Mod
  • 21,368 posts

Posted 09 July 2015 - 09:35 AM

You can't really write an Android app in C, so Java it is! It's not the only option, but most examples will be in Java.

I learnt Java by following the Stanford course here:
https://itunes.apple...384232896?mt=10

"We are a way for the cosmos to know itself." - Carl Sagan
"I do not fear death. I had been dead for billions and billions of years before I was born, and had not suffered the slightest inconvenience from it." - Mark Twain

An open mind is willing to consider new ideas, while provisionally accepting those backed by empirical evidence, and provisionally rejecting those without.

#3 kikz

kikz

Titan

• Hero
  • 19,502 posts

Posted 16 July 2015 - 01:04 PM

You could also develop in html/css phonegap/cordova, or xamarin.  you're not limited to java.

and you get the added benefit of multi-platform.

#4 ArchangelOfTheLamb

ArchangelOfTheLamb

Learner

• Quark
  • 32 posts

Posted 25 March 2016 - 12:17 PM