Jump to content


Photo

Just figured out how to edit program files without permissions in WIN10


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 RenascentMisanthropy

RenascentMisanthropy

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,669 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 29 January 2016 - 10:52 AM

I'm guessing everyone else already knows this

 

I have just signed up to Star Citizen and was trying to edit one of the "program files" to get the thing downloading properly.

 

WAIT?

 

I don't have permission to edit within the "program files" folder?

 

No matter, I uninstalled the little launcher/patcher app and reinstalled it somewhere else.

 

Bingo! I can now do whatever the hell I want to my "program files" ...  crysis averted :)


Edited by RenascentMisanthropy, 29 January 2016 - 10:55 AM.

Slycake i7 6700 + cyrorig r1 ultimate, asus z170m-plus, 16gb corsair 3200, evga gtx 970 4gb, 256gb m2 sammy pro, 1tb sshd, corsair cs650m.


#2 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 13,804 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 29 January 2016 - 12:38 PM

Forget the "run as Administrator" hey?


Cortana at your service


#3 Cybes

Cybes

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 17,938 posts
  • Location:Where I am

Posted 29 January 2016 - 02:56 PM

Take Ownership (Windows 10 version)

Seriously, man - never get locked out of your own files again.


"Reality does not care what you think." - Dr Richard Feynman
"Ideas do not deserve respect.- people do." - Peter Boghossian (paraphrase)


#4 RenascentMisanthropy

RenascentMisanthropy

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,669 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 29 January 2016 - 05:04 PM

Right click > C drive > Take Ownership.

 

Very cool!


Slycake i7 6700 + cyrorig r1 ultimate, asus z170m-plus, 16gb corsair 3200, evga gtx 970 4gb, 256gb m2 sammy pro, 1tb sshd, corsair cs650m.


#5 Chaos.Lady

Chaos.Lady

    Goddess

  • Mod
  • 79,425 posts
  • Location:In your head

Posted 30 January 2016 - 08:46 AM

oh, cool!

 

Thanks for putting this up.  It's gonna be handy for those of us who hadn't seen it before. :)


In the light universe I have been darkness. Perhaps in the dark zone I can be light...
 
Take the boat, promise me 
Never to tell
The secrets you know,
Of the Angel in Hell.


#6 Cybes

Cybes

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 17,938 posts
  • Location:Where I am

Posted 30 January 2016 - 09:33 AM

Very cool!

 

oh, cool!

 

Thanks for putting this up.  It's gonna be handy for those of us who hadn't seen it before. :)

 

Yer welcome! :)  It's been useful for me all of twice - but completely indispensable at those times.


"Reality does not care what you think." - Dr Richard Feynman
"Ideas do not deserve respect.- people do." - Peter Boghossian (paraphrase)


#7 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 13,804 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 30 January 2016 - 09:52 AM

I've only used that twice, mainly on xp machines.

Cortana at your service


#8 RenascentMisanthropy

RenascentMisanthropy

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,669 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 31 January 2016 - 08:29 AM

Right click > C drive > Take Ownership.

 

 

Actually, don't do this. I just buggered my OS, haha.. live and learn (or just live)

 

In future I will limit myself to just the files in question :)


Edited by RenascentMisanthropy, 31 January 2016 - 08:30 AM.

Slycake i7 6700 + cyrorig r1 ultimate, asus z170m-plus, 16gb corsair 3200, evga gtx 970 4gb, 256gb m2 sammy pro, 1tb sshd, corsair cs650m.


#9 Cybes

Cybes

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 17,938 posts
  • Location:Where I am

Posted 31 January 2016 - 01:38 PM

Actually, don't do this. I just buggered my OS, haha.. live and learn (or just live)
 
In future I will limit myself to just the files in question :)


"With great power comes great responsibility."


(OT: Does it annoy anyone else that 'everybody' these days seems to think Spiderman is responsible for that quote? Grr! Makes my teeth grind.)

"Reality does not care what you think." - Dr Richard Feynman
"Ideas do not deserve respect.- people do." - Peter Boghossian (paraphrase)


#10 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,058 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 31 January 2016 - 07:28 PM

 

Right click > C drive > Take Ownership.

 

 

Actually, don't do this. I just buggered my OS, haha.. live and learn (or just live)

 

In future I will limit myself to just the files in question :)

 

 

How?


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#11 RenascentMisanthropy

RenascentMisanthropy

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,669 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 01 February 2016 - 09:13 AM

 

How?

 

 

As Above

 

PC will only boot to black screen with mouse cursor in the middle.

 

All good, was the spare PC so now I will pillage it's SSD :)


Edited by RenascentMisanthropy, 01 February 2016 - 09:25 AM.

Slycake i7 6700 + cyrorig r1 ultimate, asus z170m-plus, 16gb corsair 3200, evga gtx 970 4gb, 256gb m2 sammy pro, 1tb sshd, corsair cs650m.


#12 Cybes

Cybes

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 17,938 posts
  • Location:Where I am

Posted 01 February 2016 - 11:21 AM

All good, was the spare PC so now I will pillage it's SSD :)


Seems a bit drastic for just a busted OS. I'd rather have the spare machine - which means I'd probably format it and plop Mint or something on it. But you aren't me, obviously, so whatever floats your boat. :)

"Reality does not care what you think." - Dr Richard Feynman
"Ideas do not deserve respect.- people do." - Peter Boghossian (paraphrase)


#13 aliali

aliali

    Titan

  • Super Hero
  • 24,389 posts

Posted 02 February 2016 - 07:36 AM

 

 

Right click > C drive > Take Ownership.

 

 

Actually, don't do this. I just buggered my OS, haha.. live and learn (or just live)

 

In future I will limit myself to just the files in question :)

 

 

How?

 

Because taking ownership of everything on the OS drives buggers the system file and folder permissions.


Of course you are my bright little star,

I've miles and miles of files pretty files of your forefather's fruit,

and now to suit our great computer. You're magnetic ink.


#14 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 13,804 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 02 February 2016 - 08:45 AM

I only do it get access to files off a hard drive from another pc, never done it to a live install.

Cortana at your service


#15 Cybes

Cybes

    Titan

  • Atomican
  • 17,938 posts
  • Location:Where I am

Posted 02 February 2016 - 03:45 PM

I have used it on a live install - though on specific files each time, not so pervasive as root.

 

Really, though, you have to wonder "What's to break?"  I mean, unless you delete/overwrite something, or block system read/write privs where it needs them, there's no reason it shouldn't be able to cope.  Just adding user/admin shouldn't send it a blue funk.


"Reality does not care what you think." - Dr Richard Feynman
"Ideas do not deserve respect.- people do." - Peter Boghossian (paraphrase)


#16 aliali

aliali

    Titan

  • Super Hero
  • 24,389 posts

Posted 02 February 2016 - 07:11 PM

 Just adding user/admin shouldn't send it a blue funk.

 

What can I say? It's Windows so expect the unexpected.

:P
 


Of course you are my bright little star,

I've miles and miles of files pretty files of your forefather's fruit,

and now to suit our great computer. You're magnetic ink.


#17 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 13,804 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 02 February 2016 - 09:42 PM

I think it might upset or remove some specific windows permissions.

Cortana at your service


#18 RenascentMisanthropy

RenascentMisanthropy

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,669 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 03 February 2016 - 08:39 AM

 

All good, was the spare PC so now I will pillage it's SSD :)


Seems a bit drastic for just a busted OS. I'd rather have the spare machine - which means I'd probably format it and plop Mint or something on it. But you aren't me, obviously, so whatever floats your boat. :)

 

What is Mint? Is that a linux distro? Got plenty of spare mechanical hdds for little jobs, not worth selling them on ebay these days

 

Also the other spare PC is still a goer :)

 

All this and I still haven't gotten Star Citizen working. The 27.8GB download stops with "999KB remaining" ... unbelievable, heh


Edited by RenascentMisanthropy, 03 February 2016 - 08:43 AM.

Slycake i7 6700 + cyrorig r1 ultimate, asus z170m-plus, 16gb corsair 3200, evga gtx 970 4gb, 256gb m2 sammy pro, 1tb sshd, corsair cs650m.


#19 aliali

aliali

    Titan

  • Super Hero
  • 24,389 posts

Posted 03 February 2016 - 01:52 PM

 

What is Mint? Is that a linux distro?

Yep.

Basically a Desktop distro.

http://www.linuxmint.com/about.php

and comes in several "editions"

http://www.linuxmint...screenshots.php


Of course you are my bright little star,

I've miles and miles of files pretty files of your forefather's fruit,

and now to suit our great computer. You're magnetic ink.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users