6 replies to this topic

#1 slayme1974

slayme1974

Learner

• Quark
  • 39 posts

Posted 02 September 2016 - 07:04 PM

Hi,

I've found a cheap  XEON E5-2699-V4 ES (22cores 44 threads) on ebay. I am looking a running a virtualised environment in virtual box running 2 domain controlers that also serve dhcp as well as nas, a web server, 2 windows 10 pro workstations and an Opensuse box. I also wanted to be able to play games on the xeon as well (not in virtual box). I have a few questions though before I buy it.

1. Is there any point in buying ecc ram (for the vbox network) I know there no point from a gaming perspective.

2. My copies of windows 2012 server is only licensed for 2 cpus. If I allow 4 threads in the server boxes does that count as 1 cpu or 4 for licensing purposes?

3. Will games run ok on a machine like this and if so how much will ecc ram affect the performance of the system?

4. Will a high end grapics card still run just as fast?

I'm no expert so any help would be appreciated.

#2 Rybags

Rybags

Immortal

• Super Hero
  • 34,290 posts

Posted 02 September 2016 - 07:28 PM

I wouldn't worry about ECC Ram unless you're running some enterprise type critical setup.  In which case I wouldn't be running games and using the machine for general apps/surfing.

I would think gaming should be fine. 22 Cores, I didn't realise we'd gotten that high.  I checked Win7 and the x86 versions "only" support 32 logical processors (you'd have 44 with HT enabled) but x64 supports up to 256.

That CPU only runs at 2.2 GHz but the turbo options are nice, 2.8 if all cores busy and 3.0 to 3.6 if half or less cores are busy.

Quad channel Ram is supported so it would be beneficial to set the system up as such.  I should think the asymetric modes are available so you don't necessarily have to populate the Ram slots with like sized modules in multiples of 4.  For example my older Xeon is in triple-channel mode though ATM I only have 4 of 6 slots populated with 4x4 Gig modules.