• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 TazDCassar

TazDCassar

Learner

• Quark
  • 46 posts

Posted 27 September 2016 - 04:41 PM

Hi, I have Firefox version 49 (latest) and looking to purchase antivirus/firewall software. I am looking at Norton Security Premium considering they are getting rid of Norton 360. The problem is with the Norton Toolbar with NSP, ie, "We have released a new version of the Norton Toolbar that is partially compatible with Mozilla Firefox versions 46, 47, and 48. Unfortunately, the following features are not available in this release.

• Norton Identity Safe

• Share via Facebook"

Please see more info at "https://support.nort...Profile_en_us".

Will running Live Update fix the problem? How have others who have been using Norton Security Premium think it is like? Good or bad experience?

Thanks.

#2 Rybags

Rybags

Immortal

• Super Hero
  • 34,485 posts

Posted 27 September 2016 - 04:56 PM

I've been using Avast (free) for probably 2 years and generally run older Firefox versions since newer versions tend to break some of the extensions I use.

I don't generally get problems, don't see the sense in using Nortons for the fact they're usually paid for products and don't exactly have the best reputation insofar as slowing the machine down and creating a nanny situation which affects productivity.

Firefox 49 looks to be a very new release so support for it might take a while.  If they've not stated it's supported yet then I doubt doing an update at this time will help any.

#3 TazDCassar

TazDCassar

Learner

• Quark
  • 46 posts

Posted 27 September 2016 - 05:26 PM

Hi, I get this message, when I try to enable Norton Identity Safe "The add-on could not be downloaded because of a connection failure" from identitysafe.norton.com for Firefox.

And I get "Norton Security Toolbar" instead of "Norton Identity Safe" under Menu -> Add-Ons within Firefox. The latest update from Norton says that it should fix this, but it hasn't.