Jump to content


Photo

Looking for a easy to use DOS emulator for windows 7/10 PRO

dos windows 10 windows 7

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Soulessdeath

Soulessdeath

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 51 posts
  • Location:Northern Territory

Posted 10 April 2017 - 11:45 AM

As title states im looking for a easy to use dos emulator to run dos applications in, We currently have a windows 95 pc setup for it but this is becoming outdated and not being able to use USB's on the machine is a pain. Can anyone make some suggestions on programs? 


PC's, Cars, Marine communications  a Bit of everything in life.  Especially Gaming.


#2 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,026 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 10 April 2017 - 11:49 AM

DOS BOX

 

https://www.dosbox.c...load.php?main=1

 

Runs games too!

 

I have used it, ran Duke Nukem 3d on it but the host was an old Pentium 4 box so it ran badly.


Edited by Jeruselem, 10 April 2017 - 12:17 PM.

Having trouble with A [?]OS11.1?

 

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia - Australia in but Italy, Chile, Netherlands, USA = FAIL.


#3 Soulessdeath

Soulessdeath

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 51 posts
  • Location:Northern Territory

Posted 10 April 2017 - 12:16 PM

Yeah having a look at that one, Just trying to get my head around it, will need to run comports and printers in it aswell. 


PC's, Cars, Marine communications  a Bit of everything in life.  Especially Gaming.


#4 SquallStrife

SquallStrife

    Really knows where his towel is

  • Atomican
  • 17,939 posts

Posted 10 April 2017 - 12:36 PM

DOSBox is not the right choice for non-game applications. It is geared towards games, and does not fully implement file/record locking and other features used by productivity software.

Instead, try vDOS, it's geared towards non-gaming applications, supports copy-paste, and other stuff like that.
SyDjDDk.png [retro swim] | AzpUvwG.png @retroswimau | q5O6HgO.png +RetroSwim
四時半を待っています!

#5 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,026 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 10 April 2017 - 01:05 PM

Another option is a Virtual Machine, you can run real DOS OS under a VM.

In theory, you could install Windows 95 on VM to emulate the machine you are replacing.

 

DOSBOX is games orientated indeed as most dos emulators are more geared to play doom than Wordperfect.


Edited by Jeruselem, 10 April 2017 - 01:19 PM.

Having trouble with A [?]OS11.1?

 

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia - Australia in but Italy, Chile, Netherlands, USA = FAIL.


#6 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,177 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 10 April 2017 - 01:46 PM

+1 for REAL, MS-DOS under a VM (take your favorite flavor; including microsoft VM)


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#7 aliali

aliali

    Titan

  • Super Hero
  • 24,410 posts

Posted 17 April 2017 - 09:03 AM

I use VMWare player

http://www.vmware.co...evaluation.html

to run XP so an old DOS application I still use. Also used for an app that requires dot net 1.1.

 

It will easily run a DOS OS and 95/98 as well.


Of course you are my bright little star,

I've miles and miles of files pretty files of your forefather's fruit,

and now to suit our great computer. You're magnetic ink.


#8 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,026 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 18 April 2017 - 09:35 AM

VM player and Virtual box are free, used both. I prefer Virtual Box.


Having trouble with A [?]OS11.1?

 

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia - Australia in but Italy, Chile, Netherlands, USA = FAIL.


#9 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,271 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 18 April 2017 - 04:52 PM

Can't you just use hyperv for it?


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#10 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,026 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 19 April 2017 - 09:15 AM

Can't you just use hyperv for it?

 

No HyperV works for later OSes, like XP. Pre-XP OSes need hardware emulation especially OSes like DOS.


Edited by Jeruselem, 19 April 2017 - 09:16 AM.

Having trouble with A [?]OS11.1?

 

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia - Australia in but Italy, Chile, Netherlands, USA = FAIL.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: dos, windows 10, windows 7

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users