Jump to content


Photo

Blu-Ray on Windows 10


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,750 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 03 September 2017 - 05:07 PM

Not for me, I really don't care much about movies on PC but I've been cleaning up a machine for a friend and he sort of neglected to tell me that when he said his optical drive had a problem he meant it doesn't play Blu-Rays.

 

I just upgraded VLC but it does not seem to have made any difference, driver-fix.com seems to have a solution but I'm wondering if anyone else has had success with this ?

 

It's now on Win10 Pro but it seems MS just have no interest in supporting the format any more.

 

I don't really have a lot of interest, we have a few but hardly ever watch them, but he goes to the mines often so streaming is not much of an option, anyone solved this before I go have a hassle with driver-fix.com ? :)

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#2 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,058 posts

Posted 03 September 2017 - 05:16 PM

It's not natively supported to play BR movies.

 

Supposedly there are free options around, this one showed up http://www.leawo.com/blu-ray-player/



#3 Dasa

Dasa

    Guru

  • Super Hero
  • 14,868 posts

Posted 03 September 2017 - 05:59 PM

i believe any legit blu ray players need to pay a licensing fee to sony hence why its so hard to get a good free player

funny this thread poped up i just sat down from trying to clean spider crap out of a dedicated blu ray player that is blocking the slides for the tray im afraid i may have to give up on it though which means it will be back to battling with dodgy software to play them through the pc


Silverstone TJ08-EW 6700k@4.7 1.375v - Z170-GENE - 2x8g 3866 16-16-16 - 1070@ 2100\9600MHz  -Samsung 830 64G, Sandisk Ultra II 960G, WD Green 3tb - Seasonic XP1050 - Dell U2713 - Pioneer Todoroki 5.1 Apogee Drive II - EK VGA-HF Supreme  - Phobia 200mm Rad - Silverstone AP181 Project Darkling
3770k vs 6700k RAM Scaling, HT vs RAM, Arma III CPU vs RAM, Thief CPU vs RAM
Parts Guide


#4 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,271 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 03 September 2017 - 06:00 PM

They need specific decoding/decryption software. By default they are just a data drive.
"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#5 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,750 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 03 September 2017 - 06:03 PM

:)

 

Thanks Ry, seems to work fine - had a minor bitch about region encoding but worked fine anyway - thanks again :)

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#6 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,058 posts

Posted 03 September 2017 - 06:12 PM

I suspect region locking is like DVD drives so you'd want to be careful with those cheap imported movies... they give you 5 region changes and the last one is forever.

 

Personally I just don't see any sense at all in playing optical media movies on a PC.  Given a dedicated BR player can be had for 80 bucks which is maybe 20 bucks more than a PC based one, why bother?



#7 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,750 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 03 September 2017 - 06:37 PM

I suspect region locking is like DVD drives so you'd want to be careful with those cheap imported movies... they give you 5 region changes and the last one is forever.

 

Personally I just don't see any sense at all in playing optical media movies on a PC.  Given a dedicated BR player can be had for 80 bucks which is maybe 20 bucks more than a PC based one, why bother?

:)

 

I totally agree Ry but he is FIFO so the less he has to lug around the better and he keeps telling me IT is a mystery to him, but he is better than most :)

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#8 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,033 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 04 September 2017 - 08:43 AM

There are hacks to blu ray firmware to reset the counter or make it region free.

Having trouble with A [?]OS11.1?

 

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia - Australia in but Italy, Chile, Netherlands, USA = FAIL.


#9 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,058 posts

Posted 04 September 2017 - 11:17 AM

https://www.redfox.bz/en/anydvdhd.html

 

There's still AnyDVD which automatically decrypts DVDs and BluRay, I imagine probably removes region restrictions too.

 

But really, I so rarely use optical media these days that I've not bothered to keep up with what the best solutions are.

When I do come across a DVD video I want to make available for easy viewing, I generally just rip with DVDShrink into a single large file then use MediaCoder to convert to MP4.



#10 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,181 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 04 September 2017 - 11:36 AM

+1 AnyDVD-HD

 

Also, DVDPassKey Lite, which works on Blurays, and is totally free

https://www.dvdfab.cn/passkey-lite.htm

Though the paid version is better.

 

AnyDVD clearly stands out though.


However the price is killer.

 

Currently $70 USD for DVDFab Passkey for Blu-ray, lifetime license.


Perhaps, at the VERY least, install the older version of FairMount for him? It'll handle most disks.

https://www.videohel...tware/FairMount

 

Though...passkey lite...


Edited by Master_Scythe, 04 September 2017 - 11:36 AM.

Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#11 littlejacket92

littlejacket92

    Initiate

  • Quark
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Online Game

Posted 15 September 2017 - 08:09 PM

you can try mpc k lite codec, i think it work very good. 


Life is a journey.

Enjoy your ride


#12 aliali

aliali

    Titan

  • Super Hero
  • 24,411 posts

Posted 16 September 2017 - 08:36 AM

you can try mpc k lite codec, i think it work very good. 

Please don't, codec packs are a crappy shotgun approach which can end up causing more problems than they fix.


Of course you are my bright little star,

I've miles and miles of files pretty files of your forefather's fruit,

and now to suit our great computer. You're magnetic ink.


#13 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,058 posts

Posted 16 September 2017 - 12:13 PM

Often bundled with unwanted extras as well.  I use K-Lite once or twice, if you insist on needing a codec for something MPC-HC or VLC doesn't properly cover then it's best to do it as a discrete install.

 

I've not really needed them since doing analog capture with a card that didn't have hardware encoding which was probably ~ 13 years ago now.

Given the potential for trouble the approach that MPC and VLC use is much more desirable.

 

These days if you need to capture analog the device will usually encode to Mpeg-2 which is convenient to edit and easily converted to whatever you want to release on.



#14 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,181 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 18 September 2017 - 09:55 AM

Yeah k-Lite was amazing back in the day before 'Codec-Less' players were readily available.

 

Then VLC and mPlayer came around, and well, there was just no reason anymore to lug your system with 'Decoders' that likely only one app will ever use.


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#15 galdarian

galdarian

    Master

  • Atomican
  • 752 posts

Posted 19 September 2017 - 06:07 PM

For those looking for an alternative to AnyDVD / DVDfab for Blu-Ray ripping which is cross platform I would suggest makeMKV

 

It's a pure rip though and most will then want to then throw the output *.MKV into Handbrake to reduce the file size / transcode to MP4.

 

 

Personally I just don't see any sense at all in playing optical media movies on a PC.  Given a dedicated BR player can be had for 80 bucks which is maybe 20 bucks more than a PC based one, why bother?

Dedicated BR players have to adhere to DRM to which you may or may not object to.



#16 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,058 posts

Posted 19 September 2017 - 06:58 PM

I mostly use MediaCoder here... it seems to be the only one to reliably support NVENC - hardware encoding with nVidia graphics cards which tends to be about 5 times quicker than CPU (software mode) with little difference in quality.

 

Been meaning to try the Intel encoding (CPU hardware mode) but to use it you first need to enable the onboard GPU and install the driver.


Edited by Rybags, 19 September 2017 - 06:58 PM.


#17 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,271 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 19 September 2017 - 09:06 PM

I was initially put off by the Intel hardware encoding because you had to have a monitor plugged in to the onboard video, rather than your discrete GPU, and that seemed like a lot of effort.


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#18 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,058 posts

Posted 19 September 2017 - 09:19 PM

I don't think it's to that extent... fairly sure you just enabling it in the Bios and installing the driver is sufficient, without need to use the actual video.

 

Been meaning to give it a go - about to change over to a new SSD anyway so will probably try it before doing that.

 

* In saying all this, I do mean the video encoding, not the decoding.  I imagine the hardware/assist decode does in fact require you to use the resident GPU output.

But video decode, even H.265 for a decent CPU is fairly mundane.  The encoding is where it chugs - you can run 8 threads on a 4 GHz beast and be barely at playback speed doing H.265 in 1080.


Edited by Rybags, 19 September 2017 - 09:22 PM.


#19 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,271 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 19 September 2017 - 10:13 PM

It was updated at some point, thankfully. 

 

https://en.wikipedia...ng_and_encoding

 

Kaby Lake and onwards is where it's at for quick HEVC encoding.


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users