Jump to content


Photo

Gmail Issue


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,776 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 17 November 2017 - 03:30 PM

Hi,

 

I guess I should probably put this in TechTalk but the traffic there is pretty low these days.

 

A few weeks ago now Google did an unsolicited "upgrade" to GMail and stuffed my account - could not logon.

 

It's an account that I've had for years and everyone has that address but whilst every now and again by roaming around I can get it back there no longer seems to be an ability to keep it logged in.

 

Out of necessity I created a second account, now the damned thing wants to treat that as my primary and my old address for recovery address. In other words it would appear the script kiddies in MountainView have been mucking things up.

 

Try to contact Google - the Sydney number seems to be stuck in an IVR loop, get on-line, they don't do email support anymore and for a call they charge $49...

 

I'll be damned if I'm paying to fix a problem of their creation, I'd sooner just write the account off but before I do anyone have any bright ideas ?

 

I'm by no means a mail expert but this just should not be that hard...

 

Cheers

 

 

 

 


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#2 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,211 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 17 November 2017 - 03:37 PM

So the issue is that it auto logs you out?


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#3 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,776 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 17 November 2017 - 03:59 PM

:)

 

Actually at the moment I can't even login, but assuming I manage to yes, it auto logs me out and I've had years of it just never being logged out :)

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#4 aliali

aliali

    Titan

  • Super Hero
  • 24,421 posts

Posted 17 November 2017 - 04:23 PM

Not seeing that issue here Chris. Just opened my SPAM email account and went straight to it. So most likely a Browser issue.

BTW I am using Firefox Quantum (Firefox 57) on Win 10.


Of course you are my bright little star,

I've miles and miles of files pretty files of your forefather's fruit,

and now to suit our great computer. You're magnetic ink.


#5 Nich...

Nich...

    Professional Tart

  • Mod
  • 43,295 posts
  • Location:Mexico

Posted 17 November 2017 - 04:29 PM

So you've done the usual things of different browsers, cleared cookies, etc?  Have you done an account/password recovery on it?


"I think it is a sad reflection on our civilization that while we can and do measure the temperature in the atmosphere of Venus we do not know what goes on inside our soufflés" -- Nicholas Kurti

#6 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,776 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 17 November 2017 - 04:41 PM

:)

 

Pretty much everything I think Nich.

 

It probably is a browser issue Ali but I'm on one version back from you on FF, will try the upgrade right now :)

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#7 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,097 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 17 November 2017 - 04:46 PM

You could install Chrome since it's Google's browser of choice.


MTM NBN with FTTP/FTTH, FTTN, FTTC/FTTdp, HFC and Satellite. Buffering included


#8 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,776 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 17 November 2017 - 05:09 PM

:)

 

That is the next thing I'm considering Jeruselem, I have it installed, stopped using it because it was a memory hog but I hear it has improved.

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#9 merlin13

merlin13

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 8,403 posts

Posted 17 November 2017 - 05:24 PM

Interesting - mate of mine reckoned his Gmail account also went arse-up a couple of weeks ago directly after he did a WinDoze 10 Update... we've been thinking he was experiencing either a PEBKAC or an EyeTeeTenTee error condition.

 

I'd also suggest chucking a good dose of cCleaner and Glary Utilities at yer confooser as well there, Biggles. Give it a good thwashing and clean the dust bunnies out of the operating system.


Anything not nailed down is mine, and anything I can prise up is not nailed down...

#10 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,776 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 17 November 2017 - 05:30 PM

:)

 

Already done all of that mate, do most weeks really, mix of Avast, Ccleaner and Malware bytes plus SuperSpycleaner so the machine is pretty clean.

 

A check around a few of the more arcane forums says I'm not the only one with this issue, my mistake may have been creating the second account - it's had little to no use so I think I'll delete it.

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#11 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,097 posts

Posted 17 November 2017 - 05:32 PM

Not really a good idea to use one gMail account as recovery recipient for another.  Better to use your ISP one.

Aside from what already mentioned, also consider that things like YouTube, Google+ and other bits of junk in their ecosystem are all connected and logging onto one can connect you to others.



#12 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,776 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 17 November 2017 - 09:56 PM

:)

 

That's a part of the irritation Ry - I did't, Gmail, in its "infinite wisdom" decided to do so.

 

I have four accounts active but my usually main GMail, the one I can't get to as yet, is by far the most active :)

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#13 merlin13

merlin13

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 8,403 posts

Posted 17 November 2017 - 09:56 PM

...my mistake may have been creating the second account - it's had little to no use so I think I'll delete it...

You can never have too many Gmail accounts - last head count I did on mine was up over 20 active ones with recovery details on them scattered right across the spectrum.

 

Probably a dumb suggestion but tried logging on using the Forgot Email/Password options, to see your lost account has still got some sort of life signs within the system at their end?


Anything not nailed down is mine, and anything I can prise up is not nailed down...

#14 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,776 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 18 November 2017 - 01:43 PM

:)

 

Somewhat to my surprise Jerusalem's suggestion of using Chrome worked :)

 

I had to jump through a few password reset hoops but right now my inbox is back :)

 

Next question:

 

How do I keep it logged in ?

 

There used to be a button to do just that but can't find it any more.

 

Cheers

 

Edit: Oh by the way Jeruselem, thanks for the help :)


Edited by chrisg, 18 November 2017 - 01:44 PM.

"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#15 RenascentMisanthropy

RenascentMisanthropy

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,696 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 19 November 2017 - 08:51 AM

Have you tried clearing all browser cache/data?

 

eg. run CCleaner @ startup

 

I have found this to be the problem/solution in similar cases.


Slycake i7 6700 + cyrorig r1 ultimate, asus z170m-plus, 16gb corsair 3200, evga gtx 970 4gb, 256gb m2 sammy pro, 1tb sshd, corsair cs650m.


#16 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,776 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 19 November 2017 - 08:59 AM

Have you tried clearing all browser cache/data?

 

eg. run CCleaner @ startup

 

I have found this to be the problem/solution in similar cases.

:)

 

Pretty much always do mate, in general I agree, but using FF in this case it made no difference.

 

My Gmail seems to be still live on Chrome, so that will do, I'm just hoping it doesn't go and time out on me :)

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#17 RenascentMisanthropy

RenascentMisanthropy

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 9,696 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 19 November 2017 - 12:39 PM

 

Pretty much always do mate, in general I agree, but using FF in this case it made no difference.

 

My Gmail seems to be still live on Chrome, so that will do, I'm just hoping it doesn't go and time out on me :)

 

Cheers

 

 

I have to use chrome on my laptop to log into my super, but firefox works fine for that on my desktop .... both setup the same way, no idea whats going on ....


Slycake i7 6700 + cyrorig r1 ultimate, asus z170m-plus, 16gb corsair 3200, evga gtx 970 4gb, 256gb m2 sammy pro, 1tb sshd, corsair cs650m.


#18 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,776 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 19 November 2017 - 04:33 PM

:)

 

It's IT, I've been in it 35 years now, it goes through cycles of being very simple and then being stupidly complex - for folks like a lot of Atomicans the latter is when we can make money :)

 

I'm in the midst of a code-walk for some guys I know in the U.S. who are at Alpha on a new analyzer - I'm running out of words just at the moment but code, especially arcane code like a packet analyzer is like that :)

 

They'll get there, but not this week :)

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH

#19 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,097 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 19 November 2017 - 06:49 PM

I think maybe the changes to Firefox quantum broke Gmail compability.

MTM NBN with FTTP/FTTH, FTTN, FTTC/FTTdp, HFC and Satellite. Buffering included


#20 chrisg

chrisg

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 34,776 posts
  • Location:Perth

Posted 19 November 2017 - 07:18 PM

I think maybe the changes to Firefox quantum broke Gmail compability.

Could be, I confess to being very annoyed with the changes they made to FF, half of them had no purpose whatsoever. A key example, why move the refresh button ? Anyone who has used FF for years instinctively goes to mid-bar for it, so the idiots move it to the left... Sure, I can hit F5 but if my hand is on my trackball why should I?

 

 Shit for brains...

 

Cheers


"Specialisation is for Insects" RAH




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users