Jump to content


Photo

HP Probook, change bios setup to native uefi boot from legacy


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 littlejacket92

littlejacket92

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Trump Land

Posted 23 January 2018 - 01:29 PM

My HP Probook 450 G0 is hanging with logo window last week when i change the screen cable. Then test and test but got no reason why my laptop is hanging long and longer like that. I re-install window OS for several time and I got this message ( Driver_Faiture_State)I

Next, I did a google search, I make any effort to fix my laptop. I see people said that should change boot option from legacy to uefi native. I changed, and now When I open the power button, my laptop is running but got black screen. Anyone here know this case? I leave it in laptop care for fix, but it's 4 day now, and they haven't called me for the detail problem. I feel so anxious now. Thank in advance.


Life is a journey.

Enjoy your ride

 


#2 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,381 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 23 January 2018 - 01:49 PM

When you have changed from Legacy to UEFI, you will have made the PC unable to boot at all.

The fans will spin, but that's about all. Correct? No windows startup music or anything?

 

It sounds bad, but it's not scary.

All you'll need to do is reset the BIOS.

This does involve removing the bottom cover, and there is either a reset bios button, or pair of pins.

OR

You take the laptop battery out, open the bottom of the laptop, and find the "Button Cell" (Round shape battery, like you would find in a wrist watch), which you then also unplug.

Wait 10 minutes, then reconnect it all, and power on.

This is the most reset your computer can possibly get.

Which is good.

 

I manage a fleet of a few hundred HP Probook 450's.

Is there more to that Driver_Failure_State erro you haven't typed?

Did you get a photo of the error screen?

 

It normally means the Driver is working (the screen is on) but it's entirely incorrect \ wrong.

This happens because Windows10 does it's best effort, at guessing a driver that will "Just Work".

 

What you need, is to find a way to boot cleanly, possibly Safe Mode, or VGA mode, and install your computers SPECIFIC driver.

From either the HP website, or the NVIDIA\AMD\INTEL webpage, depending whos Graphics Chip you have in there.

 

If you can get it back to the stage where it boots, but fails at the Failure_State error, and there is no way to continue with ANY option (safe mode, etc).

You'll need to look into how to "Integrate Drivers with Windows 10 Install" so that when it 'guesses' the driver, the correct one is there.

 

 

Hope that helps!


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#3 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,326 posts

Posted 23 January 2018 - 03:39 PM

In theory if there's no hotkey that works, if you disconnect the HDD you should be able to get in... which in some cases is way easier than geting at the coin battery.



#4 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,381 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 23 January 2018 - 04:11 PM

In theory if there's no hotkey that works, if you disconnect the HDD you should be able to get in... which in some cases is way easier than geting at the coin battery.

 

Not in a HP probook 450 it's not.

 

hp-probook-450-g0-blinkende-netzteil-led

 

Pretty sure that's it in the top left.

 

hp-probook-450-g0-motherboard-721525-601

 

 

Or at least, by memory it's not.....

Hmm.... perhaps i'm wrong...

Though, I will admit, I can't see where that battery PLUG goes to..... it MIGHT be accessible behind the plastic easily enough, or not.

 

Been a long time since I ripped apart a G0


Edited by Master_Scythe, 23 January 2018 - 04:12 PM.

Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#5 littlejacket92

littlejacket92

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Trump Land

Posted 23 January 2018 - 06:43 PM

When you have changed from Legacy to UEFI, you will have made the PC unable to boot at all.

The fans will spin, but that's about all. Correct? No windows startup music or anything?

 

It sounds bad, but it's not scary.

All you'll need to do is reset the BIOS.

This does involve removing the bottom cover, and there is either a reset bios button, or pair of pins.

OR

You take the laptop battery out, open the bottom of the laptop, and find the "Button Cell" (Round shape battery, like you would find in a wrist watch), which you then also unplug.

Wait 10 minutes, then reconnect it all, and power on.

This is the most reset your computer can possibly get.

Which is good.

 

I manage a fleet of a few hundred HP Probook 450's.

Is there more to that Driver_Failure_State erro you haven't typed?

Did you get a photo of the error screen?

 

It normally means the Driver is working (the screen is on) but it's entirely incorrect \ wrong.

This happens because Windows10 does it's best effort, at guessing a driver that will "Just Work".

 

What you need, is to find a way to boot cleanly, possibly Safe Mode, or VGA mode, and install your computers SPECIFIC driver.

From either the HP website, or the NVIDIA\AMD\INTEL webpage, depending whos Graphics Chip you have in there.

 

If you can get it back to the stage where it boots, but fails at the Failure_State error, and there is no way to continue with ANY option (safe mode, etc).

You'll need to look into how to "Integrate Drivers with Windows 10 Install" so that when it 'guesses' the driver, the correct one is there.

 

 

Hope that helps!

Really it's

Error " Driver Power State Faiture" sorry i have image but i don't know how to upload here

Exactly it's the error you express above. 

but the main problem here is that it turn on computer, it stop at hanging and lagging at window logo, then get no response. Cannot enter window os except for bios setup.

Can you show me how to fix this one? 


Life is a journey.

Enjoy your ride

 


#6 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,326 posts

Posted 23 January 2018 - 07:08 PM

If you can get into the Bios menu then you're halfway home.

 

There should be an option for something like UEFI or Legacy/BIOS boot.  You want to put it into the BIOS mode.



#7 littlejacket92

littlejacket92

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Trump Land

Posted 23 January 2018 - 07:18 PM

If you can get into the Bios menu then you're halfway home.

 

There should be an option for something like UEFI or Legacy/BIOS boot.  You want to put it into the BIOS mode.

The laptop center answer me that my laptop is mainboard's errors. They need two more days to fix. 

I don't know. they reset bios ok. then now, it's something that make my laptop is hanging and lagging and they have n't find it out.

hope that ok.


Life is a journey.

Enjoy your ride

 


#8 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,326 posts

Posted 23 January 2018 - 07:25 PM

How are they fixing it - did you drop it off at a service centre or something?



#9 littlejacket92

littlejacket92

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Trump Land

Posted 23 January 2018 - 08:16 PM

Yes, i drop it in a center for fixing laptop's problems/

 

I wait their job done and i can bring my laptop back. 

It take a week and I don't know they can fix it or not.  or the problems is too big to fix.


Life is a journey.

Enjoy your ride

 


#10 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,326 posts

Posted 23 January 2018 - 08:32 PM

Pity... it'll probably be a 5 minute fix which you'll pay 30-60 minutes worth of labour for the privelage of.



#11 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,381 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 24 January 2018 - 08:47 AM

You'd need to try to boot into safe mode:

 

https://www.digitalc...mode-windows-10

 

Then you'd need to manually remove, and reinstall the drivers under DISPLAY ADAPTORS

 

c04762348.jpg

 

Then be sure you reinstall the correct driver, from the Manufacturers website (As i said, try HP, but also try whoever MAKES the graphics chip. If it's on-chip, INTEL, if it has a 'brand name' graphics card, then AMD\NVIDIA).

 

There is a chance they're correct, thats a G0, it's fairly old, and Graphics Chips in laptops often are an after-thought.

I mean, just look at the motherboard I linked above.

"Just shove the GPU in the top left.... should we cool it?... NAH" No wonder they have a hard life.

There is always the CHANCE it's a hardware fault and they're replacing the motherboard, waiting on shipping from a computer wrecker (parts seller); you just won't know till they tell ya.


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#12 littlejacket92

littlejacket92

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Trump Land

Posted 24 January 2018 - 02:46 PM

Yeah, thanks @Master_Scythe and @Rybags I have the same on thought that it's hardware driver error. And the services center said that it's main's problem, they try to fix it.

Just because I don't know how to open my laptop. After two of you said and gave me a guide,  I think that I should fix it by myself, then. I wish that I did post this thread sooner. 

I will update the status of this problem as soon as i take my laptop back.  If have any problem, I don't understand, can you help me? thanks.


Life is a journey.

Enjoy your ride

 


#13 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,381 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 24 January 2018 - 03:27 PM

Of course we can help!

I'm just glad you're actually here for help and not just trying to advertise your work or spam up the place.

 

It's just been so long since we've had a legitimate international member.

 

Let us know when\if you need more help!


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#14 littlejacket92

littlejacket92

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Trump Land

Posted 26 January 2018 - 12:00 PM

Here is the Update problems of  my hp probook

 

Bios reset is ok, 

Window: Laptop hang into win logo at startup ( cannot do anything else) Driver power faiture state after done installation. ( happen many times)

Boot normally, hanging logo forever

Cannot enter safe mode because window is shutdown suddenly, safe mode error.  

Laptop restart, hang logo, cannot shutdown just hanging and restarting. 

cannot finish re-install window completely 

Today, i will create a usb flash drive intergrate window with full driver, and hope that works. 


Edited by littlejacket92, 26 January 2018 - 12:01 PM.

Life is a journey.

Enjoy your ride

 


#15 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,381 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 26 January 2018 - 02:59 PM

 

Today, i will create a usb flash drive intergrate window with full driver, and hope that works. 

 

Good man, this is the correct step.

 

If that fails, try booting into a live linux USB. UBUNTU is easy.

If it can't boot either, you have a harware failure and it might be time for a new laptop.


Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#16 littlejacket92

littlejacket92

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Trump Land

Posted 26 January 2018 - 05:01 PM

@Master_Scythe, If I cannot do anything to fix, then buy a new laptop is my choice. 
but i notice and see that when i checked system information, laptop's serial is changed. I have a question that serial changed because they reset / updated bios or they change my laptop's elements that i don't know? Do you know this case? Thanks.
here is the screenshot of two. 
 
before 
before.jpg

after

after.jpg


Edited by littlejacket92, 26 January 2018 - 05:07 PM.

Life is a journey.

Enjoy your ride

 


#17 Master_Scythe

Master_Scythe

    Titan

  • Hero
  • 20,381 posts
  • Location:QLD

Posted 26 January 2018 - 06:42 PM

I can't be 100% sure.

But your System Board CT is also changed.

So is the Build ID

And most importantly, the UUID.

 

Now, I can't be sure, but normally a UUID is calculated from 'secret maths' that is generated based on the ID numbers\serial of every piece of hardware in your system.

The fact that this has changed, along with lots of other things, suggests they've tried a new motherboard.

 

Even the SKU is different!

I don't believe that is your original Motherboard.

 

I think it's an EBAY motherboard from another country.

USUALLY the SKU of a system, even with identical Specifications, is different by Region.

 

 

To eliminate Software as the problem, try a Linux boot USB and see if you can run Ubuntu stable for a night (use it as normal).


Edited by Master_Scythe, 26 January 2018 - 06:43 PM.

Wherever you go in life, watch out for Scythe, the tackling IT support guy.

"I don't care what race you are, not one f*cking bit, if you want to be seen as a good people, you go in there and you f*ck up the people who (unofficially) represent you in a negative light!"


#18 Jeruselem

Jeruselem

    Guru

  • Atomican
  • 14,453 posts
  • Location:Not Trump-Land

Posted 26 January 2018 - 06:52 PM

Looks like a different motherboard to me!


DOWN DOWN, the Dow Jones is DOWN.

DOWN DOWN, the ASX is DOWN.


#19 littlejacket92

littlejacket92

    Learner

  • Quark
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Trump Land

Posted 26 January 2018 - 07:13 PM

Thanks for your help.

I have just called them and asked for changed information system.

They explained to me that because my bios is error so they install other's bios into my laptop. 

Ok. I will try to install ubuntu 15.04 version for my laptop. If it work then it's window's error. If no, then I should buy a new.


Life is a journey.

Enjoy your ride

 


#20 Rybags

Rybags

    Immortal

  • Super Hero
  • 35,326 posts

Posted 26 January 2018 - 07:55 PM

Sounds dodgy to me... flashing Bios isn't supposed to change those numbers, they're unique/non changing for good reason.


Edited by Rybags, 26 January 2018 - 07:55 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users