Photo

9th-gen Intel or AMD Ryzen for development and VM laptop?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ArchangelOfTheLamb

ArchangelOfTheLamb

Learner

• Quark
  • 55 posts

Posted 04 July 2018 - 08:54 PM

Hi all,

It's that time of the year (tax time/AKA Xmas in July lol yay) and this year, I will be retiring my old i5 and getting a new laptop. My budget is up to $4.5k max, so I know I can get something pretty decent.

My main aim is to be able to run multile VMs on the machine and use the host for software (mostly web - .net, C#, JS/CSS/HTML) development - I am a web app developer by day but am also studying a Masters in Cybersecurity. The former activity involves developing stuff in Visual Studio and I would like to be able to deploy to an IIS and SQL server running on a VM for unit testing, debugging, etc. The latter activity involves me in the wonderful world of hacking through virtual networks, Assembly coding and reverse engineering (for vulnerability research, malware analysis and exploit development). It goes without saying that I do this on VMs.

Because I will potentially be running several VMs simultaneously, I am looking at something with 16-32GB of RAM and at least 12 logical cores - I also need enough SSD space and throughput and perhaps a secondary disk for extra storage. I am most inclined to go for the 9th-gen Intel Alienware 15" gaming laptop (though I won't be playing many games), but I know that Asus has released a model with the desktop version of the AMD Ryzen 7 (which sports 16 logical cores).

From what I have read online, the AMD option runs hotter and does not perform as well as the 9th-gen Intel, but these reviews were written with gaming in mind, rather than virtualisation. Part of me thinks that for my use case, the cheaper and more-CPU-core AMD option might be a fair choice.