Sign in to follow this  
twr7cx

Adding another wireless access point

I have a NetComm NB6PLUS4W Wireless ADSL 2+ router. Problem I'm having is that on the far side of my house the signal is very weak. Now the antenna on the router is not removable to be upgraded. So I'm looking at other options.

The first option that has been suggested to me is to run an ethernet cable to another wireless router such as the ASUS WL-520GU, locate the second router in a more central location and use this as the wireless access point.

Alternatively, in the settings on the NB6PLUS4W it has the option under Wireless it lists Repeater and says:

"Wireless Repeater

This page allows you to configure wireless repeater feature (also known as Wireless Distribution System) for your wireless network. Click "Apply" to configure the wireless repeater options."

So again using another wireless router device, but running DD_WRT in repeater mode.

I'm a bit new to this stuff, is anyone able to make any suggestions or comments that may help me? Also, is the ASUS WL-520GU a decent enough unit to use or is there a better alternative?

I wouldn't bother with a dedicated range extender, they're massively overpriced.

As you said, your best option is to buy another wireless router, install dd-wrt and use that to extend your network. If you can run a cable to the second router you should, because your bandwidth is effectively halved if you connect the routers wirelessly (ie, the second router has to receive and send simultaneously). You'll still have plenty of bandwidth left over for internet and network games, but file transfers will be that much slower, and it adds another point of failure as well.