vanderlae

'good' web hosting service?

Hi all

Newbie here.

I would really appreciate a couple of suggestions as to a couple of Aussie web hosting companies I should consider to for a website that I am getting developed shortly. The site will be a sort of 'client front' for my music production company, with the site sporting a 'show reel' consisting of very short splices of commercials I have written the music for. Potentially some kind of FTP or similar to send secure audio files over to the client. More just an informative site than a purchase point...no shopping cart etc. But the website will be pretty slick and will have a few bells and whistles because of the target market (advertising companies mainly, film directors possibly) but don't ask me what how they are created as I will just pay for the 'project' and don't know the technology going into it the site. So I guess that means it needs to support the regular programming things. Reliable, not overly expensive.

I'm not going to pretend I know ANYTHING about this side of the fence, so if you can comment on a couple of contenders that would be fantastic.

Oh, and somewhere to register the domains! Gees, how'd I forget that one?! The only one that has been suggested to me is Domain Hosting Shop

many thanks, very cool of you to help out! (apologies if this is in the wrong spot)

Edited by vanderlae

I used Total Choice to buy my domain and for the web hosting. It was recommended to me by folks here. Their support is great - when I've screwed something up I've been able to online chat with their support guys and fix the problem straight away...

A friend of mine runs this business Lake Hosting tell him you are from atomic and I sent you. He may offer a discount :)

Ill put in Synergy8 Alot of features, probably more than you need. Very easy to use though. Oh, and they can register a domain for you (probably like most host companies...)

Good luck with it!

I've been finding Cove quite good.