Can't remember your login details? Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
Reb1rth.

Overclocking E6600 on an Intel 975XBX2

Yo.

I posted about this ages ago, but I forgot about the thread and now it seems lost in the depths of Atomic forum.

Anyway, I'm trying to OC my CPU to 3.0GHz and this board is proving to be a pain for doing so.

I've Googled for info on OC with this board and even found specific settings for this CPU, but half the options (like FSB frequency) seem to be missing from my BIOS.

I am running the newest BIOS (I actually updated the other day as I thought the mission options might be in a newer version - but weren't).

I managed to get it to 2.6, then did a restart and upped it to 2.61 (it seems to shit itself and refuse to boot if I go more than 1 at a time), then my PC tried to boot, and it went straight into a Windows recovery thing (Win7 x64 7127), and kept doing so until I returned it to stock speeds.

I'm new to this whole CPU OC thing, so I'm looking for tips/tricks to get my CPU to 3.0GHz on this board.

Hopefully one or two of you have OC on this board before!

Looking for info on why some options might not be in my BIOS, too? I remember reading something about Intel Watchdog? But I have no idea what that is.

Any help appreciated.

PCFREAK has an E6600 on that board still, he claims he was was able to get it to 3.6 24/7 from memory.

-The setting you want to change is the "MHz Host Clock speed" set it to around 333mhz which is the same as 333FSB

-now set your RAM to its lowest possible speed, it will be 667mhz so it doesn't interfere with the overclock

-add some more Vcore maybe up it to 1.35v

-set the CPU multiplier to 9x

-turn off eist and C state settings

-reboot

you should now be at 3ghz

also get Coretemp and realtemp to keep an eye on the temps and get CPUZ to see if you are at 3ghz