tyno

Light Gaming Rig

This is my first time building a PC and of course I wanted to get it right, I've been looking at parts for a while now but still don't know too much about computer pricing, performance or compatibility so I'm asking for help to make sure I have everything right. My biggest problem is that I have just under $1000 to work with including delivery so keep that in mind.

I was aiming for a PC with dual core cable of reaching 3Ghz OC'd on the factory cooling as I do tend to run a few things like games, music, instant messengers, mozilla, ventrilo, fraps and a few other programs. I don't have any idea when it comes to motherboards and how they will effect much outside of overclocking and what they support but want it to manage what I need. Since I do game whenever possible and do a bit of photoshop and such RAM is needed but depending on whether I should get Vista or stick to XP I'm not sure how much I need. As for graphics cards as I said before I am a gamer and would like as best as I could afford. I don't intend on burning DVD's or CD's but do want to be able to read both for playing movies, music and games. I don't need a large hard drive as I keep my computer fairly clean so 160GB fits more than everything I have. For a case I just need something cheap and efficient that isn't an eyesore, I don't need the fancy lights or 20 fans or a tower.

I need a computer cable of playing games like Cod4, F.E.A.R. and Quake4 but still run tasks in the background. I only have a 19 inch screen so I generally play in 1024x768 if that helps.

This is what I have so far, prices from Scorptec:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E5200 (2.5Ghz/2MB/800FSB/EMT64/XD/Dual Core) - $119

Mobo: Asus P5Q-PRO Express Gate, S775, P45, DDR2, FSB1600, PCIE, RAID, GBLAN, 2x1394a, ATX - $199

RAM: Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400 2GB (2x XMS2 1GB) Twin2X PC-6400 DDR2 RAM, 2x240-pin DIMMs, Unbuffered, 5-5-5-18 - $69