Sign in to follow this  
Slace

Moving out and needing an ISP

Ok so I'm finally moving out of home which means I'm going to need to set myself with an internet connection.

I'm a software dev which means I need a lot of... throughput on the internet connction so I'm thinking ADSL2+, but I'm not sure who is a good choice for large internet caps and good pricing.

Additionally do I need to have a connected phone line for ADSL? I know nothing about ADSL as my parents are on cable so it's never something I've needed to know about!

Westnet.

They are a little pricier then others, but you get much better support then other ISP's... and you don't have to talk to some person in India reading from a script book.

Plus you can get your phone through westnet... and they will take 10 bucks off your Internet bill.

Here are some deals

Westnet, Internode or Adam Internet (if available).

Some ISP's offer what's called Naked DSL where the ISP gives you the phone line at an extra $10~ or so per month, thus removing the need for a Budget Telstra Phone Line.

Check out whirlpool imo

exetel is very cheap, and is an excellent service.

I pay $65 per month for 66G (18G peak/48G off-peak) ADSL2+, and a landline (cheap calls too), you can choose to have your service shaped when you reach limit, or, it's only $3 per gig. they also have Naked plans - only 12 month contracts too

I highly recommend them, they are fuckin' great!

I signed up via this site

http://www.tandb.com.au/broadband/

+1 for Adam, if they're in your area.

We pay $69/month without referrals for ADSL2+ 40G, none of that peak hour crap, and shaped if you reach your limit.

Always had good support and rarely needed it, but I'm still trying to digest support only during business hours.

+1 for Adam, if they're in your area.

We pay $69/month without referrals for ADSL2+ 40G, none of that peak hour crap, and shaped if you reach your limit.