Sign in to follow this  
ducky punky

Your advice Please

So this is my first time iv build the main bits of a computer up and need some advice

1. More Ram?

2. Will it be fast aka Playing a video, running Firefox, MSN won't cause it it lag like my current setup

3. Will my current PSU be capable as i intend to overclock it

Specs

Antec 900 2 - $175

Intel Core i5 750 - $230.00

Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3- $144

2x2GB 1333hz OCZ

Will be using old PSU

1x 80GB HD

1x 500GB SATA HD

RAMs OK, though it couldn't hurt to go 2200MHz since the board and CPU you got support it; whether your graphics will be sufficient or not depends on the resolution of your monitor...you may want to add a GPU card; and your current PSU is *probably* not gonna be OK if you're gonna OC it, though we haven't been told what it is...

Edited by Antraman

As in DDR3 ram? I intend to add a GPU a HD5770 in the future but i dont have the money right now, will running without a GPU affect the computer in anyway beside not been able games? I'll have to take my PSU out to check what it is so ill tell you in a few hours.

Edited by ducky punky

get a cheaper case and maybe an i3 530, then you can buy a GPU and a new PSU, although you should say what the PSU is. also no need for 2200 mhz ram. pretty pointless.

if you intend to overclock, maybe get an aftermarket cooler.

what's your budget? someone on the forums might be able to give you a better build.

Edited by raxo55

Budget is $610 for a case CPU, mobo. I want the Antec 900 2 as its a good case and im unlikely to upgrade the case for several years.

trust me, get more money. a $600 build is not only going to be old tech in like 6 months it wont be very upgradeable. you'd be much better off saving the money for longer and using that 600 for a newer/better build.

Why iv heard the i5 750 and the P55A-UD3 are very good. So why not?

not sure why you've heard that, Where did you hear it from?