Can't remember your login details? Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
waynetheweapon

new i5 750 overclocked out of the box?

Hi

I just installed a i5 750 and the first time I went into the BIOS to change the settings I went to change the multiplier from 19 to 20 and found that it had a setting of 21.

the Base clock control was already enabled and some of the other settings were-

BCLK was already set to [200]

CPU Clock drive [800]

PCI E [900]

I am very new to building and overclocking so I was using the Atomic Mag March issue guide to overclocking as a reference and all of my settings were different to theirs

all I had to do to get my system to run at 4.2 Ghz was change the multiplier to 21. it runs perfectly stable and very cool. I was just wondering if this is normal and

would it be worthwhile to overclock it some more?

Thanks

That's weird. Is it a second hand motherboard?

Mobo brand new gigabyte P55 usb3

What's the vcore set at?

the v core was strange as well the reference in the mag has the v core default at 1.26875 to change to 1.35. Mine was set at just over 1.2

Well Done :)

I got mine to 4Ghz with a 20 multi at 1.375V without really trying, never thought about moving the multi because I assumed it was hard locked. My RAM is running at 2000Mhz which is it's limit and if I push the BCLK further I'll have to de-tune the RAM which may reduce overall speed but not if I push the multi. Hmm....

I read that the multiplier was locked too, but I've got mine at 19, aparantly uneven multipliers are more stable. I'm considering trying out 21 which would takeme to 4.3, but I'm still tossing that idea up.

I have 2000 Mhz RAM running at 2040 with a 204Mhz BCLK and a 10x multiplier.

That's weird. Is it a second hand motherboard?

Mobo brand new gigabyte P55 usb3

What's the vcore set at?

the v core was strange as well the reference in the mag has the v core default at 1.26875 to change to 1.35. Mine was set at just over 1.2