Sign in to follow this  
czerney

Gaming Server?

Hi all,

If you were to buy your own server to run as a gaming server what specs would you require to run the latest games... BC2, MW2, etc etc also teamspeak etc etc.?

What OS?

CPU?

How much RAM?

How much quota a month? How fast would up/down speeds need to this host?

How much disk?

Static IP..

Cheers,

Im a noob at this stuff but I will throw my hat in the ring anyway.

-OS windows server

-i7 9x0 cpu so you can do virtual machine stuff easily

-6-12gb of ram

-24576 / 2560 kbps net

-yea get a static ip they are like $5/month more

-any decent HDD should do

Lets see.

Some form of a *nix distro or Server 2k3/2k8

Quad core at the very least, can usually run 1 server per core then

16gb ram minimum if you plan on hosting more than 1 server.

Space, not much maybe 300gb? (would give you room for custom maps or whatever as well, dedicated servers arent big at all)

And yes, you'd want to get a plan with a static IP

Your download speed wouldnt matter so much, but you would want atleast 1m up for a server, 5-10m up be best if at all possible.

Thanks chaps....

I should clarify a bit further. I'm advising/working with a company who has the virtual infrastructure in place already. They are looking to spin up virtual servers as gaming servers so I'm just looking for what specs the VM itself should have.

Good chance I'll be admin'ing them too and I've a fair bit of pull with recommendations and pricing.

So if said create a few standard VMs with the following specs respectively:

CPU: 1/2/2/3 VCPU

RAM: 1/2/3/4 4Gb RAM

DISK: 20/40/60/80 DISK

QUOTA: 100/200/300/400GB per month.

Access: Full RDP/Console access. Ability to build/rebuild. Automated provisioning in less <30min from online purchase.

IP: Static

This would do the trick?

What price could you see yourself paying per month to have this type of service on a monthly subscription basis? What price would it have to be for YOU to seriously consider it?