tOrtise

1st Laptop ever! Please Help.

First time Laptop buyer… and I’m scared!

I have little laptop knowledge & have had a look around for what I think I need.

Basically I am looking for a gaming laptop that doesn’t cost more than $1500.

This is not the limit, but a figure I am comfortable with, if you think you have a better solution, but it costs more, by all means mention it & why you think it’s worth the extra money. I don’t want to be spending more than $2000 if i can get away with it.

Games I hope to play:

Dawn of War 2

Battlefield Bad Company

Red Dead Redemption

Call of Duty – Black Ops

And hopefully when they come out, Diablo 3 and Space Marine.

This is what I have found, please let me know your thoughts.

I am a little confused as to why its so cheap compared to others I have seen.

As an additional query, can you change the CPUs after purchase... like you would for a desktop?

From MSY.

$ 1299

GX740-247

CPU: Intel Core i5 430M

RAM: 4GB DDR3

HDD: 500GB Hard Disk

Graphics: ATI HD5870M 1GB Dedicated VGA

Screen: 17.3” (1680*1050)

* 3yrs Warranty * WIFI 802.11N * 3 x USB 2.0 * Firewire 1394

* Inbuilt Camera * 9 Cells Batt * eSata

* Bluetooth * HDMI

Free Microsoft NX-8000 Webcam

500gb HDD is heaps.

4GB Memory.... more would be nice, but not essential.

GPU HD5870M, equivalent to a 5770 for a desktop, i am thinking this is one of the better graphic cards for a laptop.

CPU i5 430M, ?? not the bests, but still a very good choice...??

Screen of 17.3" and 1680 x1050.... Good/Good?

Opinions are welcome & much appreciated.

Thanks in advance. 8)

My oppinion? I've been in your shoes before.

You want to game, and you want portable computing.

These do not go well together.

Lets say you buy that laptop (which, yes, is one of the better gaming choices).

At 3.2kg, you wont be carrying it anywhere for long, and even if you did, 1 hour and your battery is dead.