Sign in to follow this  
smakme7757

Watercooling GTX 580 with the CPU?

Ok so i've decided that i'll retire my GTX 295 and just buy a single GTX 580 (for now) which will be in my new build later in the month. Now i'm new to watercooling so i'm trying to figure out the best way to order my loop.

This is my setup:

Radiator: EK Coolstream 360

CPU Block: XSPC Rasa

GPU Block: EK-FC580 GTX - Acetal

Pump: Swiftek MCP655

Tubing: 7/16" Primochill White

Res: Swiftek MCRESMICRO

All that is in my 800D with the radiator mounted at the top and the pump in the bottom compartment. Res-Pump-CPU-Rad

As far as im concerned seeing as the GPU is the hottest part i would have had the loop like this:

Resevoir-Pump-GPU-CPU-Radiator

I guess there are better ways to setup the loop so please let me know :)

Edited by smakme7757

<snip>

As far as im concerned seeing as the GPU is the hottest part i would have had the loop like this:

Resevoir-Pump-GPU-CPU-Radiator

I guess there are better ways to setup the loop so please let me know :)

Thats how i did my first watercooling setup.

however, every benchmark that ive read, seem to indicate that the cpu will be your limiting factor, when playing with

anything higher then the gtx480/570/580 and 5870/5970/6970's... the gfx card can only do so much as the data is feed to it,

so id personally, go in this order:

Resevoir-Pump-CPU-GPU-Radiator

however, once you get a new cpu, reverse the order back to what you had orginally planned, that way

you can go for bigger overclocks on the gpu as you should get slightly more bang for buck OC'ing the gpu

then the cpu (id assume, however i could/may/proably be wrong).

I guess ill have to wait and see how my new CPU goes in term of overclocking. I'll be redoing my entire PC! Everything in my sig will be replaced - Maybe i should just make a thread in the building section where i can ask all my questions without making so many micro threads =D.

Edited by smakme7757