Sign in to follow this  
Xap

Need help overclocking a Q6600

Hey guys, i've started playing RIFT, which is a huge step up from WoW, basically comparing a tricycle to a Harley in regards to GPU and CPU intensity.

So i want to try and overclock my CPU. Never done it, complete noob, have no idea what i'm talking about, would rather go buy some new parts. Alas, i haven't got the money.

Soooo, i need the most basic of explanations on how to overclock my CPU. Dot point form. Little words. Crayon.

System:

Posted Image

Help? =[

its pretty easy, basically I'd suggest you take it in baby steps trying for something like a 50% overclock straight away probably isn't going to happen until you get better cooling and learn a little more, I am a bit rusty on socket 775 overclocking but it goes something like this for an average overclock:

I'd suggest you get CPU-Z to monitor clock speed, voltage (vcore) and get realtemp or coretemp to monitor temps (anything over about 85degrees under full load is starting to get bad, others will say you need under 60 blah blah blah but on a stock cooled chip its just not going to happen)

without knowing what stepping your chip is (B3 is the first series G0 is the second one which clocks better) for 2.7GHZ which should be safe you can use these settings.

-set FSB (front side bus) to ~300

-set CPU multiplier to 9x

-set memory speed/multiplier to 1 level lower (say its default speed is 800mhz overclocking the FSB is going to increase that so you want to set it lower as to make it within normal parameters again)

-disable any power saving options

now that should work, don't touch any voltages until you get the basics down pat, remember rome wasn't built in a day :D