Can't remember your login details? Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
p0is0n

P-Plater kills young mother

Hey guys,

This happened just down the street from my house the other day, and I could tell it was something bad, due to the number of police and ambulances which showed up, but I didn't know anyone had died until I looked at the news.

Here are a few links to the article:

http://www.smh.com.au/wa-news/oh-my-god-wh...1130-1o7ao.html

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/western-au...u-1226209835714

and a brief summary for those who can't click

The man who managed to save his three-month-old son's life but not his young wife when an out-of-control car struck them while walking through Maylands on Tuesday night says he wants justice over her death.

Gurdeep Singh managed to push his baby's pram out of the way of the vehicle but his 25-year-old wife, Manju Bala, was thrown several metres from the car's bonnet.

"He was speeding. The recommended speed is 40. I'm a taxi driver so I can imagine what the speed [was]. There was no reaction time," he said.

The 18-year-old P-plater who was driving the Subaru which struck Ms Bala is yet to be charged over the incident after speaking to major crash detectives yesterday.

Mr Singh is speaking with investigators this morning.

Police believe the teenager's car crossed onto the wrong side of the road and mounted the curb where the woman was walking north along Peninsula Road about 8pm.

A resident who lived metres away from the crash, Craig Melchor, said he believed the car was travelling well in excess of the 40km/h speed limit after hearing the screeching of tyres at the first bend before the accident.

"The way it sounded... if you even drive 60km/h your tyres aren't going to squeal at all, in any car you use," he said.

"He was going way over, he had to. You don't squeal a tyre like that and not be going really quickly and like I said, I could hear the engine and it was pretty revved out."