Sign in to follow this  
TheSingularity

Dare I Suggest A Programming FAQ Thread For Newbies

Hey all,

I'm a newbie in a sense myself when it comes to programming but more I haven't really gotten into it always other things I'm busy with or prioritise over learning to program. I was thinking something like this might be a good idea: http://www.binrev.com/forums/index.php/top...-newbie-hq-faq/ this is more hacking based I must say but a pure programming one would still work well for this community(mods if you want to delete the link go ahead I can vouch for the fact though its a White Hat hacking community that isn't out to break the law check the rules out on it yourself if you want). So I could begin writing up some stuff for it but I currently don't have time to and don't actually know much from experience just from what I've read, which is a lot.

Anyway thought it might be a good idea and would solve the problem, well it's not really a problem just the occurance of the Help A Newbie Learn threads popping up all the time and somewhere that has a concise list of links, tutorials, advice, on how to learn what is best suited to you what are some helpful sites etc.

So anyone think it's a good idea or?

Any responses are appreciated.

Hmm interesting...Yeah it isn't very active in this section =S...Just thought I might suggest it as a concise FAQ for the new version of AtomicMPC might get this section active again maybe...

Edit: Oh I forgot to toss in the question to do with what is the best language to learn if you want to program artificial intelligence. I've done enough waiting for The Singularity (well not really only became aware of it this year) and I want to help achieve it. So... Any advice would be helpful and for a decent basic tutorial for the suggested language first off.

Edited by thesingularity