Forum upgrade is live! Read more... ×
Mr Dump

Advice please-best way to approach this

I was wondering what would be the best way to automate this task I regularly do- Zzozzach's scripting question sort of looks along the lines but ... well, im new to this....

anyway heres what I do :

get a text list of variable names

search (I just cut/paste each lineone at a time into the windows explorer search bar - the actual search is surprisingly quick- i believe it is an indexed search)

for instance/s of that name in files in particular directories, the files of interest are *.c *.h *.doc *.pdf

make note of the hits

repeat.

I sometimes have 60 or so variable names, and it is a very slow process, which i'd love to automate.

The directories have about 4000 .c, .h files, and there are about 200 procedures .pdf,.doc.

It would be so good to have a text output that I can sort through, so as to match up what variables are set by what procedure and which c modules I need to grab to look in.

Is powershell scripting a suitable way to do this?

Is there a way to get a variable passed to the explorer search?

Laptop is W7, I have admin rights, btw.

Any pointers appreciated!

Good old windows batch files can do the text files:

Batch file (find_vars.bat):

@ECHO OFF
FOR /F %%G IN (vars.txt) DO FINDSTR /S /N /C:"%%G" *.c *.h *.py

And of course vars.txt looks like:

variable_1
variable_2

DOC files probably won't work, PDF technically should (most postscript is just text) but I can't guarantee it.

/edit I had *.py in there for my testing across a python project.

Also have you looked into search and replace tools?

Edited by SledgY