Can't remember your login details? Read more... ×
g__day

Never, ever give up!

Well it's been a challenging but extremely rewarding journey and yesterday I finally went for and passed my Brown Belt in Shodokan Aikido. To my mind that means I reckon in 6 months I will be up to the standard of where a brown belt really should be - but all my instructors were really pleased and so in fact was I!

My rough rule of thumb is it should take about 5 years for the average person - who puts in a lot of commitment and a hell of a lot of effort - go get to their first black belt. I've been doing this style for just under 3 years now - and no one trains as hard as I do ('cause its both my therapy, I love it and I need heavy repetition to get new things through my thick skull)!

The most memorable point of the (rather long) session was when I was avoiding one of the rather quick and younger brown belts dagger stabs and I accidentally managed to clunk his jaw with my open palm on a head throw that simply wasn't as soft as I was trying. I apologized immediately - stunned him for a few seconds - then it he really went at me. It's soft knives of course - but he really was trying to land blows hard after that. Best thing that could have happened - I was totally in the moment and really didn't want to look like shit and did beautiful evades; he didn't manage to touch me once for the next two - three minutes, whilst I managed some excellent take down throws. Sure that helped me pass my grading - normally I'm pretty much the slowest - easiest person to hit in our club, but sometimes when it seems real I change and just settle and feel totally relaxed and in the moment and somehow I actually manage to look better than average!