Sign in to follow this  
fajw

These video clips make AMD look good.

The only problem with the 8350 is the way they organized the cache. 2MB L2 cache which is shared by 2 cores just seems strange. Also i think each core gets only 16KB of L1 cache, where as most Intel CPUs have 32KB. I guess 16KB would be faster seeing as it's smaller, but i would presume that it would increase cache misses. I guess they have done some crazy work with their caching system to avoid cache misses, but i don't know, I'm not convinced. Of course I'm no expert, but I'm just writing "out loud here" hehe.

At the prices their CPU are selling for and the prices their motherboards are going for i think AMD is a fucking steal at the moment. It's so cheap for what you get.

To put it into perspective.

Here in Norway (Prices converted with todays exchange rate)

1x Intel 3770K = $444 AUD

Other option

1x AMD 8350 = $255

1x MSI 990FXA-GD80 = $213

= $468AUD

Cheap!

Edited by smakme7757

I think that's it really; current AMD chips aren't as bad as they're made out to be, they're just not the best. Kinda like the age old glass half full/empty argument. Also, I do feel Piledriver in many ways is comparable to the Phenom II, where AMD "fixes" a lot of the issues they had with the initial product (Bulldozer and Phenom), and make it a decent product

That being said, would I buy one today? Maybe, but then you have to look at the motherboards. I feel they're quite behind Intel. Heck, even the FM2 boards are much better than the ones currently used on the AM3+ platform :-/

is the fx8350 a cpu that is good enough to run most current games at a solid 60fps? yes but then so is the q6600 and phenom II or even athlon x4 more often than not since they were made to work just fine on the xbox360 weak 3 core cpu

am i going to play games at low res? no but i am going to play games moded and tweaked