Can't remember your login details? Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
Kung Fu Hung-Su

What typing training have you undergone?

http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/001188.html

Was just looking at this, and decided to check up how fast my typing speed was. 68wpm. I'm a self taught touch typist, that is, I was a hunt and pecker up until I just a few years ago (a very fast hunt and pecker, mind you) and decided to just put my fingers on the keys where they "should" be, and I was able to transition to touch typing very quickly.

68wpm is still pretty mediocre though. Just looked at the Typing Racer game linked in that article, and just saw some guy score 211 wpm. Holy crap.

What kind of typing speeds can you guys muster? And what training have you undergone, if any? Anyone use Dvorak or other keyboard layouts? Type with one hand or two? Prefer laptop jeyboards to desktop?

Edited by Kung Fu Hung-Su

I find my typing speed depends, to an extent, on the tactile and audio feedback. I like a clicky keyboard :). I don't think I'm a touch typer in the traditional sense. Though I never look at the keyboard I don't keep my hands in the appropriate position and use the recommended fingers for the recommended keys, as taught in my grade 8 keyboard skills subject. I got a VHA in that, topping the class. Suprised the heck out of the teacher because prior to my geeky self, it was always females that excelled at typing.

Last I looked, which was grade 8 typing circa 1989, I typed at around 65-70 wpm. I've probably sped up since then, but then, the old athritis might be slowing me down now :p I remember sitting in the labs at uni typing out code and a fellow student leans across from directly oppoiste me and asks "WTF. are you just bashing keys or something." astounded the speed of the noise I generated actually resulted in proper words and command being entered into the computer.