Sign in to follow this  
DJRmenace

I can has Black hole? Black hole can has mass / inertia / velocity?

An interesting Question:

Pre-note:

I am not an expert on Black holes and have only vaguely researched the topic from time to time in astonishment of this fascinating phenomenon.

THIS IS NOT A SCARE MESSAGE,

I AM NOT AGAINST THE EXPERIMENT, IF ANYTHING I AM OPENING UP AN IDEA OF THE POSSIBILITY THAT EVEN THE WORST BLACK WHOLE MAY REACT DIFFERENTLY TO WHAT MAY BE EXPECTED

So no hate mail please :)

Setting:

Lets just say the LHC in Switzerland does actually create a small black hole. The Black hole is created on the earth's surface in Switzerland

Given Scientific Facts / assumptions:

The earth is spinning at roughly 1670 km / hr (at the equator).

The Earth is orbiting the sun at a speed of roughly 108000 km/h in our solar system.

The Sun is probably moving "x" km / hr around god knows what within our galaxy (the point is all these movements are all relative)

Speculation:

Some say a small black hole "could" consume a solar system in a moment, some say it could be a much slower process and take for example 4 year to "eat" up the planet. Some say if it is small and stable enough it will not consume more than a piece of dust.

For this scenario lets say it is one with the potential to eat our planet say.. 1 day.

Note:

My question is about the inertia or mass of the black whole if there is any.

The question:

At point of creation would the black hole move with Switzerland? In other words would it have mass, inertia, and velocity like a a normal tangible object and hence begin and continue it's consumption of it's environment in Switzerland? (Spinning around the Earth and also spinning around the sun and the galaxy and Peter Griffin etc...)

OR

Is a Black hole an "immovable object" with either infinite mass and inertia (or none being that it is a "void")?