Sign in to follow this  
dawsy

Best portable device for a Uni student

I have been studying for two years at University and just can't stand carrying notes around. I have a laptop but don't want to use that either as it is fairly big.

What are some good portable tablets and devices that anyone can recommend that allow for note taking, wi-fi access, portability and speed?

I have considered the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1, but am open to others.

Thanks (hope this is in the right forum).

I don't have much experience with what works - I went through uni without a laptop at all - but if I were looking around at the moment I reckon I'd go for a surface tablet or a small touchscreen 10" win8 notebook like this one. For note taking in lectures and tutes you really want a decent physical keyboard which you do (or can) get with either of the above. Running win8 gives you more freedom with your office apps and I'd probably use one note in lectures to take ad hoc notes to tidy up later.

Not sure what size laptop you've got now but either of the above would be plenty portable.

Netbook, maybe?

TBH, typing on tablets, even the big ones does suck if it's anything beyond inputting something for an eBay search or the like.

Once you start adding things like BT keyboards and backup portable charging, you have something more cumbersome than a small notebook anyway.

Netbooks have become almost forgotten since the avalanch of tablets, but in many ways a modest performing Windows machine at the same price as an Android device is probably a better option.

Surface PRO.

Full version of windows, able to run all programs, the touch keyboard case is amazing, and IMO, windows touch screens have the best OSK other than blackberry.

Girlfriend got an Ipad for uni, regrets it every day.

I'm personally a netbook guy, but I'd still go a surface fiven the chance. the option to leave the keyboard at home is too good to pass up.