Sign in to follow this  
tastywheat

Getting a faulty product replaced under ACL

About a month a ago, I experienced a relatively sudden failure of my 2.5 year old Macbook Pro. I posted about it in the Apple section here. After a bit of troubleshooting and research, I discovered I was not alone, and a manufacturing defect had affected thousands of other users who owned MacBooks from that manufacturing period (early and late 2011 with discrete graphics cards). Thanks to the ABC show 'The Checkout', I was aware that this issue would probably be covered by Australian Consumer Law's statutory warranty. The following is rough guide to determining if this can be applied to your case, how to calm statutory warranty, what your options are, and concludes with thoughts about the ethics of the ACL. While care has been taken to ensure everything said here is correct, I am not a lawyer, and it is a good idea to verify my claims.

What is it?

The ACL applies to all purchases made after January 1st, 2011, and is designed to protect consumers by harmonising a number of previous consumer laws and trade practice acts. The Checkout does a pretty good job explaining the basics in this video:

Statutory warranty means that the retailer the product was purchased from is responsible for repairing or replacing any item that does not meet 'acceptable quality' standards. The ACL is a way to ensure goods sold in Australia meet a minimum standard of quality (among other things), and particularly for technology goods, it's a way to combat designed obsolescence. You can read more about your consumer rights at the ACCC website, here.

When does it apply?

ACL can be applied to goods that have failed before their 'expected lifetime' based on the average consumer perceptions. It's important to note that this is controlled by the consumer, and not the retailer. This can be difficult to determine objectively, but a good basis is the cost, intended use, and failure method.