Sign in to follow this  
slayme1974

Client-sever Peer to Peer

Hi,Please don't laugh at me cos I am a self confessed netwok noob. Is it possible to run some computers on a domain conected to a domain controler and some more computers connected to the same router on the same physical network to a workgroup?

I don't need the domain and the workgroup to be able to comunicate with each other I just want to be able to have a server serving my network and if a friend/family come over be able to use my internet on their laptop. Also would I need client licenses for the computers on the workgroup?

Yes to both.

Can I ask why you need a Domain though?

A domain suggests one master computer telling the others how they can perform.

Most people just use workgroups all round.

So yes, Windows Server is a couple of grand. Then a bit more for Client Licences, but yes, anyone else who plugs into your router will still be able to get online.

Honestly re-think this plan though, are you familiar with Active Directory? ICS? CAL?

If not, a domain is just a painful experience to have to run at home.

If you're happy to share what you hope to acomplish, we're probably quite able to help with the how :)

I'm currently studying IT and I though it would be good practice to set up a client-server network. I have some knowledge of ad,cs and cal but not extensive.

I know my best friend has a Mac server but he has much more kn owledge of networking than I do.

I was thinking of using an old computer of mine as a domain controler.I don't think I'll need anything fancy as I only have 4 clients. I don;t need a dns server as dns is already provided by my Isp.

Also does 1 quad core i7 count as 1 cpu or 4 for licensing purposes.

one CPU.

Yeah sounds like a fun project.

Now, it's been a good 6 years since I've done this, but I believe Microsoft offer a 180day trial 'windows server' download, where you're free to use it, without CAL's for the sake of education\evaluation.