Forum upgrade is live! Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
slimdog360

Worries about loosing your job?

Is it just me or do other people worry about loosing their jobs? I'm almost 30 now, and I've been working in 'real' jobs (engineer) since about 2006-ish. Pretty much since the GFC the economy all around the world hasn't ben so great. Businesses are always going up and down and I'm always worried about loosing my job. It'd be nice to have just one comfortable position I could retire into.

Is it just me or do other people worry about loosing their jobs? I'm almost 30 now, and I've been working in 'real' jobs (engineer) since about 2006-ish. Pretty much since the GFC the economy all around the world hasn't ben so great. Businesses are always going up and down and I'm always worried about loosing my job. It'd be nice to have just one comfortable position I could retire into.

Why worry?

Work hard to eliminate any debt you might (or better yet, don't go into debt in the first place) have and then if things do go pear-shaped it won't impact on you 'too' much. either way and in ANY issue I can think of, 'worrying' does NOTHING to remedy the situation and only make things worse, both mentally and physically. You could also look into learning to make money that doesn't relate to that paradigm.

• Like 1

Not really. If it's gonna happen there's little I can do to stop it, and if it happens then I just have to try to find another one.

I'm single with no dependants or debts however so I can see how I might have less to fear.

Kind of difficult for me, I'm primarily self-employed, suppose I could fire myself :)

Cheers

"if you don't have the cash, then you cannot afford it"

^^ That's been my motto since I first began working part-time whilst still at school. Some people seem to be able to work

the credit system, not me, I find the fact of owing money really hard to compartmentalise appropriately.