Sign in to follow this  
smakme7757

New Lab machine

Hi people,

As I work in IT I like to have a machine where I can spin up a few VMs I have a home "lab". My current lab machine has existed since I was a uni

Forgotten model number of most components :P, but anyway:

CPU: Intel Xeon 4c/8t

RAM: 32GB Crucial

Mobo: MSI Z77A-gd65

SSD: 1x 500GB SSD Samsung Pro

HDD: 2x 2TB HDD Seagate

PSU: Corsair 860 AX

Cooler: Collermaster Evo 212+

It's ok, but time for a change.

So now that I've been working for 2 years I decided to upgrade. I picked up a new motherboard, cpu, ram and cooler. The rest is stuff from earlier.

It turned out like this. Will be running Hyper-V on Windows Server 2016 when it's released in September.

CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2630 V4, 10c/20t

RAM: 128GB Crucial ECC Registered Dimm

Mobo: SuperMicro MBD-X10SRL-F

SSD: 2x 250GB Intel 240 (RAID 0 for lab machines)

SSD: 1x 500GB Samsung Pro (For lab machines)

HDD: 4x 1TB WD RE4 Enterprise (RAID 10, for data and a few VM's which I wan't to protect)

HDD: 2x 500GB WD RE4 Enterprise (RAID 1, for OS)

PSU: Corsair 860 AX

Cooler: Noctura NH-U9DX i4*

Case: Fractal Design R4

The board has 10 sata ports so that leaves me with an extra port for maybe another SSD later on.

I think I'll have to run a Super Pi on that 10c/20t and see how it goes :D. Not sure how Super Pi reacts to more cores with a lower frequency....??

The parts are in the mail, so not long until they arrive.

Edited by smakme7757

Nice. But how about doing VM at the lowest level, ie partition hardware resources using VT-x, VT-d then run a type 1/bare metal hypervisor.

Though in doing so it consumes a lot of resources from the onset. But massive cred value.