Forum upgrade is live! Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
Master_Scythe

Does the FCC have power here? NBN?

Just curious if we're going to end up seeing a nice big reduction in rates after someone forms a class action against the NBN.

The reason I'm wondering, is because of this:

"Federal Communications Commission has voted to change the definition of broadband by raising the minimum download speeds needed from 4Mbps to 25Mbps, and the minimum upload speed from 1Mbps to 3Mbps"

And depending on what 'service' ends up getting put in by majority, a lot are only promising 24mbps down..... Meaning people will sign up to a "National Broadband Network" and not get Broadband.

Now, I'm no lawyer, but there have been class action lawsuits against similar misleading funded projects.

Calling it a BROADBAND network, and not providing BROADBAND is, I think, a cause for someone to start something.

I'm purely speculating here, I'm no lawyer, and I stopped 'keeping hope' for NBN probably a year ago, so I'm probably way behind.

Is there still risk of people getting less than 25Mbps on a 'broadband' network? And if so, what can we, the public, do?

Will someone sue the Australian Govt/NBNCo, because the FCC in the US has defined 'broadband' differently?

lolno. We have our own definitions.

FCC has SFA to do with us though that said there's plenty of places that would follow their lead for stuff like standards relating to RF noise emission controls and the like.

Even at 4 mbps "Broadband" there's plenty of people getting ripped off. Did a recent quick Speedtest.net run somewhere and they were getting a paltry 2.7, funnily enough the upload wasn't tea-bag at about 0.5

Right, I had no idea it was a USA thing, so was just curious.

What does Australia define Broadband speed as being?

And if we don't have one, might referencing another large organization such as the FCC be a leg to stand on?