Sign in to follow this  
ArchangelOfTheLamb

Host firewall recommendations

Hi All,

I am looking to install a host firewall on my PC. Now, the PC in question is already behind two hardware firewalls and because of that, so far, Windows 10 Advanced Firewall has been good enough for my needs. However, it does require scrolling through long lists of rules or typing PowerShell/CMD commands to change firewall rules - this can be cumbersome and annoying, particularly when multiple ports, protocols and applications are in issue (coz then several rules need changing and they are not always near each other in the GUI).

I am doing a Masters in Cybersecurity and for my study, I will be developing exploits, payloads, etc. Some will do things like automatic port scans, attempted self-propagation (i.e. worms) and other things that I do not want on the rest of my network. I will also be reverse engineering existing malware as part of my uni course.

Whilst I do know I can hard-code my own exploits/viruses so that they do not break out of the virtual network in which I run them (and which die quietly if for some reason they do), exploit development is tricky and once you start playing with antivirus evasion and other more advanced stuff, results might not turn out as expected. Plus I am sure that for my malware reverse engineering course, I am going to have to load and run malware to reverse engineer on my own PC - I doubt the lab time we will get will be enough for me to do it all at the cyber labs at uni. Again, I do plan on doing this sort of stuff in a virtual environment. But even so, I may need to insert USBs or email myself files that have viruses on them lol.