Can't remember your login details? Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
MrFriendly

802.11n

One of my users today had a bit of a sad because her work laptop doesn't support 802.11n and that's what her AP uses at home, although, she called it "the 'n' standard".

At first I was thinking "Bitch be smokin crack, I've never heard of it".

After a bit of googling I was shocked and surprised, I just couldn't believe I haven't heard of it. Mind you, I've been doing support for nearly the last two years so I'm a bit out of the loop with tech news.

From what I've managed to find out, the standard is yet to be ratified and probably wont be until next year, as such, there's very few devices actually out there for it.

What I'm keen to know is if anyone has gotten to play around with any 802.11n tech and what they think of it.

Cheers

Mick

One of my users today had a bit of a sad because her work laptop doesn't support 802.11n and that's what her AP uses at home, although, she called it "the 'n' standard".

At first I was thinking "Bitch be smokin crack, I've never heard of it".

After a bit of googling I was shocked and surprised, I just couldn't believe I haven't heard of it. Mind you, I've been doing support for nearly the last two years so I'm a bit out of the loop with tech news.

From what I've managed to find out, the standard is yet to be ratified and probably wont be until next year, as such, there's very few devices actually out there for it.

What I'm keen to know is if anyone has gotten to play around with any 802.11n tech and what they think of it.

Cheers

Mick

There are hundreds of "draft"n devices out there now. Any computer shop should stock it.

There are hundreds of "draft"n devices out there now. Any computer shop should stock it.

Yeah, I've noticed Apple have jumped right on board. It always concerns me when they push out tech that hasn't actually be properly standardized yet. But I guess a lot of vendors did the same thing with 802.11a/b/g.