Sign in to follow this  
chunky18887

Audioengine A5 back in stock!

Back in July Datafast posted a thread, on old atomic, about the Audioengine A5's at a low price.

Archived Thread Here

I'd been looking at these for a while and seeing that price made me take the plunge and order some. As detailed in the last thread, I'd been told they were on back order and should be coming in to the country late August. I figured it's not that long of a wait for these speakers, if all the reviews I'd read were true.

When September rolled around I still hadn't heard anything so I sent an email off and was told there was another month wait on them. This same pattern continued on for 3 months; "they'll be in stock in 4 weeks", 4 weeks later, "sorry they're still 4 weeks away"

This didn't bother me, as I work in retail and know there's sometimes nothing you can do when trying to get stock from overseas. I figured there'd be enough people complaining for me not to have to.

So yesterday I got an email

We are waiting for our shipment of Audioengine speakers to arrive from the importer. They called us today to say they have been sent to us today – so should be here early next week.

Sweet! They'll be here before christmas. It was only a SIX MONTH wait on these babys. oooh yeah.

But then I read further down...

The fall of the Australian Dollar has caused the prices to rise quite substantially, but I am offering a reduced price based on your previous order being with My Digital Home.

Audioengine 5’s $575 plus original shipping cost (RRP NOW $699 - Our new price $615)

You have been allocated a unit from our stock, but if we have not received notification from you by Monday that you wish to continue with your order, the order will be cancelled so the unit can become available for other interested persons.

WTF?! That's 120 bucks more? I've been quite patient, I think, waiting for these speakers to arrive, and now they want to charge me almost 30% more?