Sign in to follow this  
rem68

Windows fresh install - Help

I currently have windows installed on a 320GB HDD. Just brought a new 640GB HDD. I want to freshly install windows XP onto the 640GB however I dont want to lose all my info on the old drive. What is the best way to transfer the data?? I was thinking about doing a drive back up onto my external drive. Is that the best way to go??. Ideas please. TA

If you were me, I would just copy whatever data I wanted over to another source be that would be that. However, I do recall a migration tool mentioned somewhere that probably might do the same thing but I have never used it before. I dont know how much data you have on that drive or if its properly indexed. I have most of my data on a different drive altogether from my OS drive especially for this reason so I dont have to worry about moving data from one place to another before I resintall or something. Just decide what you want copied, and copy. If there is something more specific than that, please state it here.

I had herd that a lot of the data that you may want to transfer is situated in the "All Documents" / "Documents and settings" folder. I just dont want to go through the process of reinstalling stuff like saved games, Mozilla favorites, email favs etc or should I just bit the bullet and start from scratch.

Edited by rem68

The absolute easiest way would be to install Windows on the 640GB and just leave the 320GB in as a secondary drive. It will still have the Windows installation and all your data on it.

To make life easier remove any passwords on your user accounts before installing Windows on the new drive as well, otherwise you will have to take ownership later.

I would consider the "best way" to be to backup your data to the external drive, then when installing Windows format the 320GB and install to the 640GB. That way you won't have a dual-boot setup nor a whole bunch of crap on the 320GB drive.

Edited by confined